Skip to main content

Class Descriptions: Home

Workshops + Classes

PubMed Basics
Discover the secrets of effectively searching PubMed (MEDLINE), the world’s leading biomedical literature database! In this introductory workshop, you will learn the best practices of keyword searching, how PubMed interprets your searches, and how to craft an advanced search. Additionally, we will explore how to filter and refine search results, locate related citations, and find the full-text article. We will use the MyNCBI feature to save searches and results.

PubMed: Intermediate to Advanced
Maximize your existing PubMed (MEDLINE) search skills and become a more-efficient researcher. In this workshop, you will advance your understanding of Medical Subject Headings (MeSH), the MeSH search builder, and PubMed’s Topic-Specific Queries. We will teach you not only  how to effectively search for information about drugs and diseases—but also how to craft more-complex searches for clinical and biomedical research. This class is perfect for individuals who are embarking on a literature review or for those who have complex clinical or research questions. Basic foundation in searching PubMed is recommended.

Searching the Nursing Literature with CINAHL + JBI
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) and the Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) databases are two of the premier evidence-based nursing literature resources. Learn how to effectively search for pertinent journal articles, systematic reviews, evidence summaries, and recommended practices.

Medical Genetics Resources I
This lecture introduces the National Center for Biotechnology Information  molecular databases centered on medical genetics and genetic tests and laboratories.

Conducting Research: Process, Methods, and Design
This lecture is centered on the process of conducting research, particularly on the development of the research question and hypothesis, literature analysis, research methods, study designs, data management, research integrity, and research management.

Writing Systematic Reviews 
This lecture provides an overview of the purpose, structure, components, and writing process of systematic reviews. Attendees will become familiar with systematic review standards and guidelines and will explore opportunities for collaboration with librarians.

Designing a Compelling Scientific Presentation
This lecture will help you to structure and design your research presentation using the key components and elements of scientific presentation to communicate your research findings to your audience.

Preparing Your Manuscript for Publication
This lecture is centered on planning, writing, and submitting manuscripts for publication in biomedical journals. Students will be guided through the publication process, journal selection, and authorship guidelines and standards. The writing section of the workshop is centered on steps and tips for writing a compelling manuscript (title, abstract, introduction, methods/materials, results, and discussion). The manuscript submission process and review, copyright issues, research integrity, and DoD public access policy compliance will also be discussed.

Research Data Management
This lecture introduces a concept of data-driven research, research data management, and data management planning for grant proposals. The research data life cycle, including data collection, processing methods, and analysis of qualitative and quantitative data will be discussed. Attendees will become familiar with data submission standards and DoD biomedical research and data policy.

Managing Reference Citations with EndNote (Desktop/Standalone version)
This lecture will help you to develop basic skills in bibliographic management using EndNote standalone and web-based citation manager. You will learn how to create a reference library, collect reference citations from various biomedical literature databases, organize references, generate and format a bibliography, share a library, and connect with researchers.

Managing Reference Citations with EndNote (Web version)
This workshop will help you to develop basic skills in bibliographic management using EndNote Web citation manager. In this hands-on class, you will create an online account via the Darnall Medical Library and will create a reference library accessible anywhere/anytime, collect citations from various biomedical literature databases, organize references, generate and format bibliographies, share your library electronically with peers, and insert references into a Word document.  You will also be briefly introduced to EndNote Desktop.

All Quick Take Sessiosn are 45 minutes or less!

Article Retrieval: What to do when Plan A Fails
You have used the skills from our PubMed classes to create a search. Now you have a list of articles you want to read. The "Locate@Darnall" link is meant to take you straight to the article you want, but sometimes it does not work properly. This class will help you troubleshoot the common error messages you get when the Locate@Darnall link does not work.

Keeping Up with the Literature
Keeping up with current biomedical research can be overwhelming. Imagine having one single list of articles from your favorite journals, newspapers, web sites, and blogs which you could peruse at your leisure. We will show you ways you can keep current by setting up search alerts and browsing your top journals in a mobile-friendly way. In just 45 minutes, you will learn all you need to know to get started!

Providing Health Information to Your Patients at the Point of Care
Have patients mentioned their attempts to Google diagnosis or treatment information?  In this workshop, participants will learn about free online patient health information resources that are vetted, reliable, and credible and about patient health information available in the library's clinical resources.  Participants will learn tools to identify reliable health information for patients at the point of care.

ClinicalKey
Participants will become familiar with the resources available in ClinicalKey including journals, eTextbooks, drug monographs, guidelines, patient education, and multimedia. Participants will also learn how to seamlessly add medical photographs and radiological images with citations from ClinicalKey directly to their PowerPoint presentations.

OvidMD
Participants will become familiar with the resources available in OvidMD, a point of care tool that can simultaneously search UpToDate, ACP Journal Club, MEDLINE, guidelines, journals, eTextbooks, A to Z Drug Facts, patient information, and images. 

Best Mobile Medical Apps
Bring your smartphone or tablet and come learn about the top mobile medical resources and applications available through Darnall Medical Library and beyond. We will highlight reputable medical apps, show you what you have available via Darnall’s subscriptions, and shine a light on some of the best freely-available apps around.

Your Mobile Evidence-Based Practice Toolkit
Spend 30 minutes with us and you will walk away with key mobile apps and resources that will enhance your practice of evidence-based medicine at the point of care. We will help you build a folder on your mobile device that contains the top point-of-care apps including those that cover diseases, drugs, medical calculators and statistics, and critical appraisal tools.

Loading

Contact Us

Ask a Librarian   Ask the DML:
Questions & Article Requests
Email Email the DML Librarians:
For HIPAA sensitive questions
Phone Call the DML:
301-295-1184/1185
Email Tell Us:
Suggestions? Concerns?

------------

USU Button  USUHS LRC
FBCH Button  FBCH Library

Register for a Class

To register for a class, please go to the Course Calendar to peruse the schedule and sign up for individual classes.

Request a Class

The librarians at Darnall Medical Library are happy to provide individual and group classes or consultations upon request. Standard classes are listed to the left, but the librarians have broad experience in all facets of research and evidence-based practice. Depending on your particular needs, a librarian or team of librarians can design training well-suited to you or your learners.

To request a class, click on the "Email the DML Librarians" link above.

Darnall Medical Library | Walter Reed NMMC | Building 1, Room 3458 | 8955 Wood Road | Bethesda, MD 20889 | 301-295-1184/85 | Open Monday-Friday, 0700-1730

Computer Annex | Building 6, Room 1369 | 301-319-8856 | Open Monday-Friday, 0930-1600

After-hours access to the library is available to WRNMMC Staff via the CDO at 301-295-4611.