Skip to main content

Welcome to Darnall Medical Library: Instruction and Collaboration

Providing quality information and services to support the readiness and care of the Uniformed Services and their families.

Manuscript Coaching Lab

Dr. Lyubov Tmanova holds a coaching lab each Thursday to provide walk-in consultation on manuscript writing, journal selection, authorship, manuscript submission, copyright issues, and public access policy compliance.
Dr. Tmanova is also available by appointment by calling 301-319-2475.

Manuscript Coaching Lab
Thursdays 1200 - 1400
Darnall Medical Library
Bldg 1, Room 3458
 

Instruction and Collaboration

Dr. Lyubov Tmanova offers research-oriented classes on a quarterly basis. Individual and group research consultations are also available upon request. Standard classes are listed below, but Dr. Tmanova has broad experience in all facets of research and can design other research-oriented classes to meet your particular needs.

Please see the library's Course Calendar for scheduled classes!

Workshops Offered by Dr. Tmanova

Writing Systematic Reviews - This workshop provides an overview of the purpose, structure, components, and writing process of systematic reviews. Attendees will become familiar with systematic reviews standards and guidelines and explore opportunities of collaboration with librarians. Please see the Systematic Review Service page for details on collaboration opportunities with Darnall Medical Library librarians.

Preparing Your Manuscript for Publication - This workshop is focused on planning, writing, and submitting manuscripts for publication in biomedical journals. Students will be guided through the publication process, journal selection, and authorship guidelines and standards. The writing section of the workshop is centered on steps and tips for writing a compelling manuscript (title, abstract, introduction, methods/materials, results, and discussion). The manuscript submission process and review, copyright issues, research integrity, and public access policy compliance will also be discussed.

Designing a Compelling Scientific Presentation - This workshop will help you to structure and design your research presentation using the key components and elements of scientific presentation to communicate your research findings to your audience.

Managing Reference Citations with EndNote - This workshop will help you to develop basic skills in bibliographic management using EndNote standalone citation manager. Attendees will learn how to create a reference library, collect reference citations from various biomedical literature databases, organize references, generate and format bibliographies, share a library with peers, connect with researchers, and insert references into a Word document. Attendees will also be briefly introduced to EndNote Web.

NCBI Medical Genetics Resources I - This workshop focuses on information resources and molecular databases centered on human medical genetics, genetic tests and laboratories, and genetic disease and human variation resources. The workshop consists of a brief introduction and guided walkthrough search that is based on a clinical case scenario in the NCBI molecular databases.

Research Data Management - This workshop introduces a concept of data-driven research, research data management, and data management planning for grant proposals. The research data life cycle, including data collection, processing methods, and analysis of qualitative and quantitative data will be discussed. Attendees will become familiar with data submission standards and DoD biomedical research and data policy.

Conducting Research: Process, Methods, and Design
This workshop is centered on the process of conducting research, particularly on the development of the research question and hypothesis, literature analysis, research methods, study designs, data management, research integrity, and research management.

Workshops in Development by Dr. Tmanova

  • Introduction to NCBI Molecular Databases
  • NCBI Medical Genetics Resources II
  • NCBI Medical Genetics Resources III
  • Sequence Analysis
  • Gene and Expression Analysis
  • Bioactivity Assays and Compound Analysis
  • Pharmacogenomics
  • Biomedical Literature Informatics

Contact Us

Lyubov Tmanova, DVM, MLIS, MS
Informationist
Biomedical Research Librarian
Building 1, Room 3458
Phone: 301-319-2475
Email: lyubov.tmanova.civ@mail.mil

Darnall Medical Library | Walter Reed NMMC | Building 1, Room 3458 | 8955 Wood Road | Bethesda, MD 20889 | 301-295-1184/85 | Open Monday-Friday, 0700-1730

Computer Annex | Building 6, Room 1369 | 301-319-8856 | Open Monday-Friday, 0930-1600

After-hours access to the library is available to WRNMMC Staff via the CDO at 301-295-4611.