Skip to main content

Patient Health Education Portal: Behavioral Health

The patient's guide to authoritative health information on the Internet.

CardioSmart Med Reminder Mobile App

CardioSmart Med Reminder

The CardioSmart Med Reminder app helps patients with medication compliance. It is effective for any patient on multiple medications. Read the review from iMedicalApps.

Step Away Mobile App

Step Away

The Step Away app helps patients independently manage a drinking problem. Read the review from iMedicalApps.

PTSD Coach Mobile App

PTSD Coach

The PTSD Coach app was developed by the Department of Veterans Affairs to help users learn about and manage symptoms that often occur after trauma.

Psychological Health Center of Excellence Mobile Applications

Psychological Health Center of Excellence Mobile Applications
Scroll down to "Patient Focused"

AfterDeployment

AfterDeployment

  • Maintained by the National Center for Telehealth & Technology (T2; Joint Base Lewis-McChord, WA). 
  • Provides self-care information targeting post-traumatic stress, depression, and other behavioral health challenges commonly faced after a deployment.
  • Includes self-assessment tools; interactive exercises; videos; online books; and links to other resources.

Anxiety and Depression Association of America

Anxiety & Depression Association of America

  • Maintained by the Anxiety and Depression Association of America, a nonprofit organization dedicated to the prevention, treatment, and cure of anxiety, depression, OCD, PTSD, and related disorders.
  • Provides comprehensive information on the various anxiety and depressive disorders and how to cope with them.
  • Includes videos; podcasts; statistics; brochures; screening tools; and links to other organizations.

National Alliance on Mental Illness

National Alliance on Mental Issues

  • Maintained by the National Alliance on Mental Illness, a nonprofit, grassroots organization dedicated to improving the lives of Americans affected by mental illness.
  • Provides information on mental health disorders and conditions, including the symptoms, causes, diagnosis, treatments, and coping strategies.
  • Includes videos; free publications; a helpline; a Multicultural Action Center with resources on mental health issues in cultural and linguistic minority populations; information on navigating the legal system for mental illness sufferers; and information on medications and prescription drug assistance programs.
  • Spanish version available.

National Center for PTSD

National Center for PTSD

  • Maintained by the National Center for PTSD, which was established in 1989 by the Department of Veterans Affairs.
  • Provides information specific to veterans and their families about PTSD, assessment, treatment, coping, and other trauma-related problems.
  • Includes videos and a PTSD Coach mobile app that provides information on PTSD; a screening tool; a feature to track your symptoms; Spanish language publications; and links to support.

National Institute on Drug Abuse

National Institute on Drug Abuse

  • Maintained by the National Institute on Drug Abuse, an agency of the National Institutes of Health.
  • Provides information on drugs of abuse and related topics.
  • Includes news; an emerging trends alert; statistics; videos; podcasts; and a database of free publications searchable by drug, audience, or topic.

National Institute of Mental Health

National Institute of Mental Health

  • Maintained by the National Institute of Mental Health, an agency of the National Institutes of Health.
  • Provides information on signs, symptoms, prevention, and treatment of depression, bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, ADHD, and PTSD and other anxiety disorders.
  • Includes videos and audio recordings; statistics; downloadable and free print publications in English and Spanish; and information about clinical trials currently recruiting participants.

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline

The National Suicide Prevention Lifeline provides free and confidential emotional support to people in suicidal crisis or emotional distress 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, by dialing 1-800-273-8255.

Military Crisis Line

Military Crisis Line

 Military Crisis Line Text

Service members, including members of the National Guard and Reserve, and Veterans, even if you are not registered with the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) or enrolled in VA health care, can talk to a crisis responder from the VA 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, by dialing 1-800-273-8255 or texting 838255.

Contact A Librarian

Do you need help finding health information? Contact our clinical librarian.

Email   Email 
  Health Information Request
Phone

  Call 
  301-295-2325

Disclaimer: The librarians at Darnall Medical Library are happy to respond to requests for health information from WRNMMC patients and families. The librarians are not doctors and cannot provide medical advice or interpret the information provided. Only health care providers can evaluate how health information may apply to a patient's specific situation, discuss medical conditions, and make health-related recommendations and suggestions.

Links, photos, or content shared from another site do not indicate endorsement by WRNMMC or by any other federal agency. Advice on the treatment or care of an individual patient should be obtained through consultation with a physician who has examined that patient or is familiar with that patient's medical history.

WRNMMC Contacts

Behavioral Health

Adult Inpatient Unit
Location:
Bldg 10W, 7th Fl
Phone: 301-295-4095
Visiting Hours: Mon-Fri, 1600-1900;
     Weekends & holidays, 1300-1900
                     
Adult Outpatient Clinic
Location:
Bldg 19, 6th Fl
Phone: 301-295-0500
Hours: Mon-Thu, 0700-1700; Fri, 7-4

Older Adult Clinic
Location:
Bldg 19, 6th Fl
Phone: 301-319-8852
Hours: M-F, 0730-1600

Child & Adolescent Outpatient
Location:
Bldg 19, 4th Fl
Phone: 301-295-0576
Hours: M-F, 0700-1600

Substance Abuse Rehabilitation Program
Location:
Bldg 7, 4th Fl
Phone: 301-400-1298
Hours: M-F, 0730-1630

Darnall Medical Library | Walter Reed NMMC | Building 1, Room 3458 | 8955 Wood Road | Bethesda, MD 20889 | 301-295-1184/85 | Open Monday-Friday, 0700-1730

After-hours access to the library is available to WRNMMC Staff via the CDO at 301-295-4611.