Skip to main content

Patient Health Education Portal: Comprehensive Health Information

The patient's guide to authoritative health information on the Internet.

CardioSmart Med Reminder Mobile App

CardioSmart Med Reminder

The CardioSmart Med Reminder app helps patients with medication compliance. It is effective for any patient on multiple medications. Read the review from iMedicalApps.

Spot A Stroke FAST Mobile App

Spot a Stroke

The Spot A Stroke app helps the user identify the signs of a stroke. Read the review from iMedicalApps.

Emergency Medical Center Locator Mobile App

EMCL

The EMCL app helps the user identify the closest specialized emergency medical center for trauma, stroke, ophthalmology, pediatrics, cardiology, and burn care. Read the reviews from CardioSmart and medGadget.

Lab Tests Online Mobile App

Lab Tests Online

The Lab Tests Online app provides the user detailed information on over 200 laboratory tests used to screen for, diagnose, and treat disease. No review is available, but the Lab Tests Online app provides the same information as the highly-respected Lab Tests Online website.

First Aid by American Red Cross Mobile App

First Aid

The First Aid app provides lifesaving first aid instruction for everyday emergencies and disaster preparedness information. Read the review from iMedicalApps.

MedlinePlus

MedlinePlus

  • Maintained by the National Library of Medicine, an agency of the National Institutes of Health.
  • Provides easy-to-read, quality consumer health information.
  • Includes information on over 950 health topics; information on thousands of prescription and over-the-counter medications; interactive tutorials; videos of surgical procedures; health news; and a medical encyclopedia.
  • Spanish and mobile web versions available.

Cleveland Clinic

Cleveland Clinic

  • Maintained by the Cleveland Clinic Department of Patient Education and Health Information.
  • Provides information on over 900 health topics and information on diagnostics and testing, treatments and procedures, and medical devices.
  • Includes podcasts; webcasts; a live chat service with a health information search specialist available Monday-Friday, 10:00 AM-1:30 PM EST; and an Online Learning Center to increase knowledge about specific conditions and treatments.

Lab Tests Online

Lab Tests Online

  • Maintained by the American Association for Clinical Chemistry in collaboration with many other societies.
  • Provides patients detailed information on over 200 laboratory tests used to screen for, diagnose, and treat disease.
  • Includes test screening recommendations; information on over 100 conditions, with links to the tests associated with them; news; in-depth articles; and an "Ask Us" feature.
  • Fourteen different language versions available.

ClinicalTrials.gov

ClinicalTrials.gov

  • Maintained by the National Institutes of Health.
  • Provides the purpose, design, participant eligibility, results, and contact information for all federally- and privately-supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and in 187 countries.
  • Includes a glossary and a thorough FAQs page to help patients understand all facets of clinical trials.
  • Allows the user to change the text size.

Genetics Home Reference

Genetics Home Reference Center

  • Maintained by the National Library of Medicine, an agency of the National Institutes of Health.
  • Provides easy-to-read information about the effects of genetic variations on human health.
  • Includes the genetics of over 1,000 heath conditions, diseases, and syndromes; a glossary of medical and genetic terms; information on over 1,200 genes; and an illustrated handbook on how genes work, how mutations cause disorders, genetic testing, and gene therapy.

Healthfinder.gov

HealthFinder.gov

  • Maintained by the Department of Health & Human Services.
  • Provides resources on a wide range of health topics selected from over 1,400 government and non-profit organizations.
  • Includes an encyclopedia of over 1600 health topics; health news; personal health tools; and a services locator.
  • Spanish version available.

Household Products Database

Household Products Database

  • Maintained by the National Library of Medicine, an agency of the National Institutes of Health, and based on the Consumer Product Information Database.
  • Provides information about the products found in and around the home, such as bathroom cleaners, lawn fertilizers, hair spray, and cat litter, and their potential health effects.

WomensHealth.gov

WomensHealth.gov

  • Maintained by the Office of Women's Health at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
  • Provides information on health concerns of women and on the signs, symptoms, and treatments for women's health conditions.
  • Includes free books and fact sheets on a multitude of women's health issues.
  • Allows the user to change the text size.
  • Spanish version available.

Contact A Librarian

Do you need help finding health information? Contact our clinical librarian.

Email   Email 
  Health Information Request
Phone

  Call 
  301-295-2325

Disclaimer: The librarians at Darnall Medical Library are happy to respond to requests for health information from WRNMMC patients and families. The librarians are not doctors and cannot provide medical advice or interpret the information provided. Only health care providers can evaluate how health information may apply to a patient's specific situation, discuss medical conditions, and make health-related recommendations and suggestions.

Links, photos, or content shared from another site do not indicate endorsement by WRNMMC or by any other federal agency. Advice on the treatment or care of an individual patient should be obtained through consultation with a physician who has examined that patient or is familiar with that patient's medical history.

WRNMMC Contact

TRICARE Nurse Advice Line
Phone: 800-874-2273
Hours: 24/7

Darnall Medical Library | Walter Reed NMMC | Building 1, Room 3458 | 8955 Wood Road | Bethesda, MD 20889 | 301-295-1184/85 | Open Monday-Friday, 0700-1730

After-hours access to the library is available to WRNMMC Staff via the CDO at 301-295-4611.