Skip to main content

Patient Health Education Portal: Endocrinology

The patient's guide to authoritative health information on the Internet.

Diabetik Mobile App

Diabetik

The Diabetik app allows patients with diabetes to track and manage their disease. Read the review on iMedicalApps.

CardioSmart Med Reminder Mobile App

CardioSmart Med Reminder

The CardioSmart Med Reminder app helps patients with medication compliance. It is effective for any patient on multiple medications. Read the review from iMedicalApps.

Diabetes Public Health Resource

Diabetes Public Health Resource

  • Maintained by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
  • Provides information on the prevention and management of diabetes and provides national, state, and local diabetes statistics.
  • Includes news; a risk calculator; podcasts; fact sheets; reports and guides; links to financial assistance for diabetes care; and information on state diabetes prevention and control programs.
  • Spanish version available.

Joslin Diabetes Center

Joslin Diabetes Center

  • Maintained by the Joslin Diabetes Center, an affiliate of Harvard Medical School.
  • Provides information about nutrition, exercise, management, and clinical guidelines.
  • Includes a diabetes glossary, free interactive online classes, and Spanish language publications.

National Diabetes Education Program

National Diabetes Education Program

  • Maintained by the National Institutes of Health, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and over 200 partners at the federal, state, and local levels.
  • Provides information on the treatment, early diagnosis, and the prevention or delay of the onset of type 2 diabetes.
  • Includes a database of free publications searchable by age, diabetes status, race/ethnicity, and language; videos on changing behavior; weekly podcasts of people who manage their diabetes every day; live and recorded webinars on the latest advances and challenges in diabetes prevention and management; and the Diabetes HealthSense tool that helps users meet goals.
  • Allows the user to change the text size.

National Diabetes Information Clearinghouse

National Diabetes Information Clearinghouse

  • Maintained by the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, an agency of the National Institutes of Health.
  • Provides information about prevention, treatment, and management of diabetes.
  • Includes an A-Z list of diabetes topics; information on clinical trials; easy-to-read publications written in both English and Spanish on many topics, such as risks, management, and complications; statistics; and diabetes intereactive health education tools, including streamming videos, vodcasts, podcasts, and streaming audio. 
  • Spanish version availalbe.

National Institute of Diabetes & Digestive & Kidney Diseases

National Institute of Diabetes & Digestive & Kidney Diseases

  • Maintained by the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, an agency of the National Institutes of Health.
  • Provides an A-Z glossary with links to additional information on diabetes and digestive and kidney diseases; statistics; clinical trials and how to participate in them; and links to the Healthy Moments Radio Broadcasts, a weekly radio broadcast by the institute's director offering tips on preventing and controling diabetes and digestive and kidney diseases.
  • Spanish version available.

Contact A Librarian

Do you need help finding health information? Contact our clinical librarian.

Email   Email 
  Health Information Request
Phone

  Call 
  301-295-2325

Disclaimer: The librarians at Darnall Medical Library are happy to respond to requests for health information from WRNMMC patients and families. The librarians are not doctors and cannot provide medical advice or interpret the information provided. Only health care providers can evaluate how health information may apply to a patient's specific situation, discuss medical conditions, and make health-related recommendations and suggestions.

Links, photos, or content shared from another site do not indicate endorsement by WRNMMC or by any other federal agency. Advice on the treatment or care of an individual patient should be obtained through consultation with a physician who has examined that patient or is familiar with that patient's medical history.

WRNMMC Contacts

Endocrinology
Location: Bldg 19, 5th Fl
Phone:  301-295-5165
Appointments: 855-227-6331
Hours: M-F, 0800 - 1600

Diabetes Institute
Location: Bldg 19, 5th Fl
Phone:  301-319-4768
Hours: M-F, 0730 - 1600

Darnall Medical Library | Walter Reed NMMC | Building 1, Room 3458 | 8955 Wood Road | Bethesda, MD 20889 | 301-295-1184/85 | Open Monday-Friday, 0700-1730

After-hours access to the library is available to WRNMMC Staff via the CDO at 301-295-4611.