Skip to main content

Patient Health Education Portal: Oncology

The patient's guide to authoritative health information on the Internet.

CardioSmart Med Reminder Mobile App

CardioSmart Med Reminder

The CardioSmart Med Reminder app helps patients with medication compliance. It is effective for any patient on multiple medications. Read the review from iMedicalApps.

American Cancer Society

American Cancer Society

  • Maintained by the American Cancer Society, a nationwide, community-based voluntary health organization dedicated to eliminating cancer as a major health problem.
  • Provides resources for coping with cancer and detailed guides on the various types of cancer, including causes, risks, prevention, detection, diagnosis, staging, and treatment.
  • Includes videos and interactive tools; scheduling for free transportation to and from cancer treatments through the Road to Recovery program; and publications available in Bengali, Chinese, Hindi, Korean, Urdu, and Vietnamese.
  • Spanish version available.

Genetics Home Reference

Genetics Home Reference Center

  • Maintained by the National Library of Medicine, an agency of the National Institutes of Health.
  • Provides easy-to-read information about the effects of genetic variations on human health.
  • Includes the genetics of over 1,000 heath conditions, diseases, and syndromes; a glossary of medical and genetic terms; information on over 1,200 genes; and an illustrated handbook on how genes work, how mutations cause disorders, genetic testing, and gene therapy.

ClinicalTrials.gov

ClinicalTrials.gov

  • Maintained by the National Institutes of Health.
  • Provides the purpose, design, participant eligibility, results, and contact information for all federally- and privately-supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and in 187 countries.
  • Includes a glossary and a thorough FAQs page to help patients understand all facets of clinical trials.
  • Allows the user to change the text size.

National Cancer Institute

National Cancer Institute

  • Maintained by the National Cancer Institute, an agency of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
  • Provides information on the various types of cancer and the prevention, diagnosis, and treatments.
  • Includes news; information on clinical trials; statistics; free publications; a dictionary of cancer terms; and the NIH Drug Dictionary.
  • Spanish version available.

Oncolink

OncoLink

  • Maintained by the Abramson Cancer Center at the University of Pennsylvania.
  • Provides information about cancer types and treatments, including surgery and cutting-edge technologies, and resources for coping.
  • Includes cancer news; a clinical trial matching service; webinars and webchats; podcasts and conference videos; and special resources for patients, such as guidance in legal and financial issues.
  • Spanish version available.

Foundation for Women's Cancer

Foundation for Women's Cancer

  • Maintained by the Foundation for Women’s Cancer, which was founded by the Society of Gynecologic Oncology.
  • Provides information on cancers specific to women, treatment options, clinical trials, and quality of life issues such as fertility and sexuality.
  • Includes downloadable reports and educational brochures and a course schedule for the foundation’s educational classes and events.

Contact A Librarian

Do you need help finding health information? Contact our clinical librarian.

Email   Email 
  Health Information Request
Phone

  Call 
  301-295-2325

Disclaimer: The librarians at Darnall Medical Library are happy to respond to requests for health information from WRNMMC patients and families. The librarians are not doctors and cannot provide medical advice or interpret the information provided. Only health care providers can evaluate how health information may apply to a patient's specific situation, discuss medical conditions, and make health-related recommendations and suggestions.

Links, photos, or content shared from another site do not indicate endorsement by WRNMMC or by any other federal agency. Advice on the treatment or care of an individual patient should be obtained through consultation with a physician who has examined that patient or is familiar with that patient's medical history.

WRNMMC Contacts

Murtha Cancer Center
Location: Bldg 19, 3rd Fl
Front Desks:
   Breast Care - 301-295-3899
   Dermatology - 301-295-4551
   Gynecology - 301-400-1257
   Prostate - 301-319-2900
   Surgery - 301-319-2316
Hours: M-F, 0730 - 1600

Hematology/Oncology Service
Location: Bldg 19, 3rd Fl
Front Desk: 301-319-2100
Schedule with Infusion Room: 301-319-2170
Appointments: 301-319-2101
Hours: M-F, 0730 - 1600

Pediatric Hematology/Oncology Service
Location: Bldg 19, 4th Fl
Appointments: 301-400-1663/1664
Hours: M-F, 0730 - 1600

Darnall Medical Library | Walter Reed NMMC | Building 1, Room 3458 | 8955 Wood Road | Bethesda, MD 20889 | 301-295-1184/85 | Open Monday-Friday, 0700-1730

After-hours access to the library is available to WRNMMC Staff via the CDO at 301-295-4611.