Skip to main content

Welcome to Darnall Medical Library: Research Quality

Providing quality information and services to support the readiness and care of the Uniformed Services and their families.

Research Quality

Research Quality is an analysis of academic publications in the biomedical journals using the bibliometric and scientometric tools and analytics for the research impact and development of the scientific research and policy. Analysis of academic publication helps to understand the academic and scientific development, influence, and research impact of scholars’ research. Analysis of biomedical scholarly publication leads to the enhancement of the research in healthcare and reduction of the adverse effects of the environment and environmental changes that impact human health.

Research productivity, collaboration, research topics, citation impact and other metrics are included in research quality analysis to assess and communicate the value of the academic publication in biomedical research.     

Research Quality Initiative provides an analysis of the research publication using scientometric methodology to determine the research, policy, and health impacts of research publications to WRNMMC researchers.  To request the Research Quality Analysis, please submit the request for Research Quality Analysis. If you have questions about the research quality analysis and conduction of the research quality analysis of academic publications, contact Dr. Tmanova.

Citation Analysis Research: 
Tmanova, L., & Sheehy, H. (2013). The effect of Internet acces on usage for government information in scholarly scientific publication: Preliminary findings. Paper presented at the The Mid-Atlantic Chapter Annual Meeting of the Medical Library Association (MAC-MLA), Pittsburgh, PA.

Abstract:

Purpose: The study’s objective is to determine frequency and pattern of use of government information in core journals in the area of medicine and health sciences using citation analysis.

Methodology: The New England Journal of Medicine, The Journal of the American Medical Association, Annals of Internal Medicine, American Journal of Nursing, and American Journal of Clinical Nutrition American from the years 1995-2010 were examined. Government documents were identified and analyzed as to provenance from federal, state, local, international (intergovernmental), and foreign national government agencies as well as specifically from the CDC and World Health Organization. Citation analysis was used  to assess the impact of web-based electronic resources on the frequency of citation of government information.

Results: Citations of federal and international government information across all journals showed an increase. The American Journal of Clinical Nutrition, American Journal of Medicine, and New England Journal of Medicine showed the highest citation rates for materials from the federal government generally. The most frequently cited materials were from the Center for Disease Control and World Health Organization. 

Conclusion: Electronic access to library resources clearly facilitates scholarly research. Preliminary results of this study indicate that online access to federal and international government information increases its citation in journals literature. State, local and foreign national government information showed little change and reasons for this remain to be explored.

Academic Publication Tracking Sources

  • PubMed
    free search engine using MEDLINE database of life sciences and biomedical research 
  • Google Scholar
    ​Google Scholar free web search engine of scholarly literature in variety of research disciplines and sources
  • Scopus
    ​Elsevier's is licensed database of academic research in life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences, and health sciences
  • Web of Science
    Clarivate Analytics licensed database of academic research in variety of academic disciplines
  • DML library databases
    open and licensed databases of academic research in health sciences and military research 

Researcher Identity

  • ORCHID
    method of researcher disambiguation. ORCHID provides a researcher with a unique identifier that distinguishes researchers from other researchers in the scientific community 
  • ISNI
    International Standard Name Identifier ​ISO global standard method for the unique identification of the researchers across all fields of creative activity and those who are distributing their creative work 
  • Web of Science ResearcherID
    Web of Science unique researcher identifier used to solve the problems of author identification and correct attribution of researcher works

Research Quality Analytical Tools

  • OpenRefine
    ​Google Scholar open source tool for data cleaning, transforming from one format into another, and extending it with web services and external data
  • Science of Science (Sci2) Tool
    study the temporal, geospatial, topical, and network analysis and visualization of scholarly datasets at the micro, meso, and macro levels
  • RRStudio
    free software environment used for the statistical computing and data science 
  • Gephi
    open source software used for the analysis and visualization of the networks 
  • Inkscape
    open source professional vector graphics editor
  • IN-SPIRE™
    software for information analytics and visualization 
  • VOSviewer
    software for data mining and visualization of bibliometric networks
  • D3.js
    JavaSscript Data-driven Documents library used for the interactive visualization in web browsers

Alternative Metrics

  • Altmetrics
    alternative non-traditional measurement method for the citation analysis of the academic publications 
  • ImpactStory
    free open sources web-based tool used to measure researcher's impact of research outputs 
  • Plum Analytics
    analysis of the citations, usage, capture, mentions, and social media of researchers data associated with research articles, conference proceedings, book chapters, and other publications in the online environment

Research Impact

Citation Analysis

  • H-Index
    measurement of quantity and quality of author's research productivity
  • i10-Index
    Google Scholar's measurement  of research productivity used by Google Scholar 
  • G-Index
    Egghe's measurement of research productivity that is based on the researchers" publication 

Journal Impact Factor and Journal Rank

  • Google Scholar Metrics
    study the citation visibility and influence of an academic articles in scholarly publications
  • Journal Citation Reports
    Thomson Reuters tool used for the analytics of citation and publication in academic journals to measure the research impact
  • Eigenfactor and Article Influence
    study the value and influence of scholarly periodicals, mapping academic research, and navigation of the scholarly publications 
  • Scimago Journal and Country Rank
    measure the scientific influence of scholarly journals that includes journal citations and journal rank

 

Selected Research

Abrizah, A., Erfanmanesh, M., Rohani, V. A., Thelwall, M., Levitt, J. M., & Didegah, F. (2014). Sixty-four years of informetrics research: Productivity, impact and collaboration. Scientometrics, 101(1), 569-585.

Jarwal, S. D., Brion, A. M., & King, M. L. (2009). Measuring research quality using the journal impact factor, citations and ‘Ranked Journals’: blunt instruments or inspired metrics?Journal of Higher Education Policy and Management, 31(4), 289-300.

Mingers, J., & Leydesdorff, L. (2015). A review of theory and practice in scientometrics. European journal of operational research, 246(1), 1-19.

Moed, H. F., & Halevi, G. (2015). Multidimensional assessment of scholarly research impact. Journal of the Association for Information Science and Technology, 66(10), 1988-2002.

Priem, J., Taraborelli, D., Groth, P., & Neylon, C. (2010). Altmetrics: A manifesto, 26 October 2010. http://altmerics.org/manifesto

Seglen, P. O. (1997). Why the impact factor of journals should not be used for evaluating research. British Medical Journal, 314(7079), 497.

Van Leeuwen, T. N., Visser, M. S., Moed, H. F., Nederhof, T. J., & Van Raan, A. F. (2003). The Holy Grail of science policy: Exploring and combining bibliometric tools in search of scientific excellence. Scientometrics, 57(2), 257-280.

Van Raan, A. F. (2005). Fatal attraction: Conceptual and methodological problems in the ranking of universities by bibliometric methods. Scientometrics, 62(1), 133-143. 

Darnall Medical Library | Walter Reed NMMC | Building 1, Room 3458 | 8955 Wood Road | Bethesda, MD 20889 | 301-295-1184/85 | Open Monday-Friday, 0700-1730

After-hours access to the library is available to WRNMMC Staff via the CDO at 301-295-4611.