Skip to main content

Patient Health Education Portal: Allergy / Immunology

The patient's guide to authoritative health information on the Internet.

CHANGE Asthma Mobile App

Android
iPhone

CHANGE Asthma is an educational resource for asthmatics describing inhaler proper use. The app links to videos describing the proper use and administration of an inhaler, as well as three educational games. Read the review from iMedicalApps.

CDC Vaccine Schedules Mobile App

Android
iPhone

Quick access from CDC to ACIP-recommended immunization schedules, complete with footnotes. Intended for healthcare professionals recommending and administering vaccines to infants, children, adolescents, and adults.

Food Allergy Research & Education: Life With Food Allergies (FARE)

Life With Food Allergies

  • Provides information and education on the basics of food allergies, as well as how to prevent and treat reactions. Content includes:
  • How to Read Food Labels
  • Epinephrine

American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology: Allergies

Allergies

  • Provides information on Symptoms, Diagnosis, Treatment & Management, with links to information on anaphylaxis, rhinitis / hay fever, sinusitis, and a variety of allergies (drug, eye, food, latex, medication, mold, pet, skin, stinging insect).
  • Some materials are available in Spanish.

Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America: Types of Allergens

American College of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology: Seasonal Allergies

Seasonal Allergies

  • Provides information on Triggers, Management & Treatment.
  • Includes videos, links to "Ask the Allergist," and a symptom test.

American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology: Asthma

Asthma

American College of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology: Asthma Testing and Diagnosis

Asthma Testing and Diagnosis

  • Provides information on "What to expect at your first appointment," testing, and diagnosis.
  • Includes links to "Ask the Allergist," and a symptom test.

Centers for Disease Control: Vaccines & Immunizations

Vaccines & Immunizations

  • Provides vaccine information geared towards parents, adults, and pregnant women.
  • Includes sections on Preventable Diseases, and the recommended vaccine schedule, plus travel information.
  • Some materials are available in Spanish.

Contact A Librarian

Do you need help finding health information? Contact our clinical librarian.

Email   Email 
  Health Information Request
Phone

  Call 
  301-295-2325

Disclaimer: The librarians at Darnall Medical Library are happy to respond to requests for health information from WRNMMC patients and families. The librarians are not doctors and cannot provide medical advice or interpret the information provided. Only health care providers can evaluate how health information may apply to a patient's specific situation, discuss medical conditions, and make health-related recommendations and suggestions.

Links, photos, or content shared from another site do not indicate endorsement by WRNMMC or by any other federal agency. Advice on the treatment or care of an individual patient should be obtained through consultation with a physician who has examined that patient or is familiar with that patient's medical history.

WRNMMC Contacts

Allergy, Immunology and Immunizations
Location: Bldg 19, 4th Fl
Phone: 301-295-4510
DSN: 295-4770
Referral Required: To be seen by an allergist, a consult (referral) from your TRICARE Primary Care Manager is required.

Darnall Medical Library | Walter Reed NMMC | Building 1, Room 3458 | 8955 Wood Road | Bethesda, MD 20889 | 301-295-1184/85 | Open Monday-Friday, 0700-1730

After-hours access to the library is available to WRNMMC Staff via the CDO at 301-295-4611.