Skip to main content

Patient Health Education Portal: Cardiology

The patient's guide to authoritative health information on the Internet.

Emergency Medical Center Locator Mobile App

EMCL

The EMCL app helps the user identify the closest specialized emergency medical center for trauma, stroke, ophthalmology, pediatrics, cardiology, and burn care. Read the reviews from CardioSmart and medGadget.

H20 Overload Mobile App

H20 Overload

The H20 Overload app helps CHF and renal patients with fluid control. Read the review from iMedicalApps.

Spot A Stroke FAST Mobile App

Spot a Stroke

The Spot A Stroke app helps the user identify the signs of a stroke. Read the review from iMedicalApps.

American Heart Association

American Heart Association

  • Provides patients with comprehensive information on arrhythmia, cholesterol, heart attack, heart failure, high blood pressure, stroke, and congenital defects.
  • Includes news; videos; and a tool called Heart360 that allows the user to track blood pressure, physical activity, cholesterol, glucose, weight, and medications.
  • Spanish, Vietnamese, Simplified Chinese, and Traditional Chinese versions available.

American College of Cardiology: CardioSmart

CardioSmart

  • Provides patients information on preventing, treating, and managing cardiovascular disease.
  • Includes a glossary, BMI calculator, videos, and news.
  • Spanish version available.

National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute

National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute

  • Provides information on a wide range of heart and vascular disease topics.
  • Includes a tool to estimate your risk of having a heart attack in the next 10 years; a body mass index calculator; a database of clinical trials seeking patients; videos; recipes; and downloadable books and fact sheets.
  • Allows the user to change the text size.

National Stroke Association

National Stroke Association

  • Provides information on prevention, risk factors, treatment, and rehabilitation.
  • Includes free webinars; videos; downloadable brochures and factsheets; a list of Emergency Stroke Center locations; an online social network for caregivers; and information specific to women.
  • Allows the user to change the text size.
  • Spanish version available.

Department of Health and Human Services: WomensHealth.gov

WomensHealth.gov

  • Provides information on heart disease and stroke in women.
  • Includes signs of a heart attack in women.
  • Allows the user to change the text size.
  • Spanish version available.

Contact A Librarian

Do you need help finding health information? Contact our clinical librarian.

Email   Email 
  Health Information Request
Phone

  Call 
  301-295-2325

Disclaimer: The librarians at Darnall Medical Library are happy to respond to requests for health information from WRNMMC patients and families. The librarians are not doctors and cannot provide medical advice or interpret the information provided. Only health care providers can evaluate how health information may apply to a patient's specific situation, discuss medical conditions, and make health-related recommendations and suggestions.

Links, photos, or content shared from another site do not indicate endorsement by WRNMMC or by any other federal agency. Advice on the treatment or care of an individual patient should be obtained through consultation with a physician who has examined that patient or is familiar with that patient's medical history.

WRNMMC Contacts

Emergency Room
Location: Bldg 9A, 1st Fl
Phone: 301-295-4810
Hours: 24/7

MHS Nurse Advice Line
Phone: 800-874-2273
Hours: 24/7

Cardiology
Location: Bldg 9, 2nd Fl
Phone: 301-295-4500
Hours: M-F, 0730 - 1600

Cardiothoracic Surgery
Location: Bldg 9, 2nd Fl
Phone: 301-295-2552
Appointments: 301-295-6289 or 855-227-6331

Vascular Surgery
Location: Bldg 9, 2nd Fl
Phone: 301-295-4479
Hours: M-F, 0730-1600
Appointments: 301-295-6289 or 855-227-6331

Darnall Medical Library | Walter Reed NMMC | Building 1, Room 3458 | 8955 Wood Road | Bethesda, MD 20889 | 301-295-1184/85 | Open Monday-Friday, 0700-1730

After-hours access to the library is available to WRNMMC Staff via the CDO at 301-295-4611.