Skip to main content

Patient Health Education Portal: Drugs, Supplements, & Herbs

The patient's guide to authoritative health information on the Internet.

LactMed Mobile App

LactMed app

The LactMed app provides information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Read the review from iMedicalApps.

National Library of Medicine: DailyMed

DailyMed

  • Provides trustworthy information about human and animal drugs marketed in the United States.
  • Includes the medication content and labeling found in medication package inserts and the Pillbox drug identifier database.

National Library of Medicine: Drug Information Portal

Drug Information Portal

  • Performs a comprehensive search of all of the National Library of Medicine's drug-related databases, including LactMed, LiverTox, MedlinePlus Drugs & Supplements, DailyMed, ClinicalTrials.gov, and Pillbox beta.
  • Mobile web version available.

National Library of Medicine: LactMed

LactMed

  • Provides information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed.
  • Includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant.
  • Mobile web version available.

National Library of Medicine: MedlinePlus Drugs & Supplements

MedlinePlus Drugs & Supplements

  • Provides information of the side effects, dosage, and special precautions for prescription drugs and over-the-counter medications. Provides information on the effectiveness, dosage, and drug interactions of dietary supplements and herbal remedies.
  • Spanish version available.

National Library of Medicine: Pillbox beta version

Pillbox

  • Helps the user identify unkown pills and search pills by imprint, shape, color, and size.
  • Includes pill image; description; drug label; and links to additional information about the drug, such as use in clinical trials, effect on breast feeding, and liver toxicity.

Poison Emergency

Poison Control Number

Talk to a poison expert from the American Association of Poison Control Centers 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, by dailing 1-800-222-1222..

Contact A Librarian

Do you need help finding health information? Contact our clinical librarian.

Email   Email 
  Health Information Request
Phone

  Call 
  301-295-2325

Disclaimer: The librarians at Darnall Medical Library are happy to respond to requests for health information from WRNMMC patients and families. The librarians are not doctors and cannot provide medical advice or interpret the information provided. Only health care providers can evaluate how health information may apply to a patient's specific situation, discuss medical conditions, and make health-related recommendations and suggestions.

Links, photos, or content shared from another site do not indicate endorsement by WRNMMC or by any other federal agency. Advice on the treatment or care of an individual patient should be obtained through consultation with a physician who has examined that patient or is familiar with that patient's medical history.

WRNMMC Contacts

WRNMMC Pharmacies

Navy Exchange (NEX) Pharmacy 
Location: NEX - Bldg 82, 1st Fl
Phone: 301-295-2123
Hours: Mon-Sat, 0900-1730  Sun, 1000-1730
OPEN all federal holidays except Thanksgiving & Christmas



Arrowhead Building Pharmacy
Location: Bldg 9, 2nd Fl 
Phone:  301-319-3436
Hours: Mon-Fri, 0730-2030 
Closed federal holidays



Drive-Thru Refill Pick-Up
Location: Lot H between the Navy Lodge and the Child Development Center
Phone: 301-295-2123
Hours: Mon-Fri, 0900-1730
Closed federal holidays



America Building Pharmacy
Location: Bldg 19, 1st Fl
Phone: 301-319-3436
Hours: Mon-Fri, 0700-1800
Closed federal holidays

Darnall Medical Library | Walter Reed NMMC | Building 1, Room 3458 | 8955 Wood Road | Bethesda, MD 20889 | 301-295-1184/85 | Open Monday-Friday, 0700-1730

After-hours access to the library is available to WRNMMC Staff via the CDO at 301-295-4611.