Skip to main content

Patient Health Education Portal: Gastroenterology/Hepatology

The patient's guide to authoritative health information on the Internet.

Doc4Me App

Doc4Me is an app for patients transitioning to an adult GI doctor for IBD.

American College of Gastroenterology: Patient Education and Resource Center

ACG Patient Education & Resource Center

  • Provides information on a variety of digestive health topics and GI procedures, as well as information pages on Colorectal Cancer, Hepatitis C, Inflammatory Bowel Disease, Irritable Bowel Syndrome, and Obesity.
  • Includes video and audio podcasts, information brochures, and ACG’s free e-newsletter, Digestive Health Insights.
  • Spanish version available.

American Gastroenterological Association: Patient Center

AGA Patient Center

  • Provides information on conditions, procedures, and diet and medication. Full section on the FODMAP Diet, including resources and how to get started.
  • Includes information pages and illustrations.
  • Some pages / handouts available in Spanish.

North American Society for Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition: GIKids

GIKids

  • Provides information about pediatric digestive disorders, how they are diagnosed, the treatment and management of conditions, and our patient and parent resources.

  • Includes videos, quick facts on various conditions, and links to Pediatric Clinical Trials.

International Foundation for Gastrointestinal Disorders: Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS) Diet

Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS) Diet

  • Provides information on Irritable Bowel Syndrome, including treatment, pain management, and dietary recommendations.
  • Includes worksheets.

Department of Veterans Affairs: FODMaP Diet

FODMaP Diet

  • Provides information on the FODMaP diet, intended to help decrease symptoms of irritable bowel syndrome (IBS).
  • Includes guidance charts on foods to avoid and a recommended sequence for removing / adding foods.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD)

Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD)

  • Describes conditions characterized by chronic inflammation of the gastrointestinal tract, including ulcerative colitis and Crohn’s disease.
  • Includes basic information, data, statistics, and resources.

Contact A Librarian

Do you need help finding health information? Contact our clinical librarian.

Email   Email 
  Health Information Request
Phone

  Call 
  301-295-2325

Disclaimer: The librarians at Darnall Medical Library are happy to respond to requests for health information from WRNMMC patients and families. The librarians are not doctors and cannot provide medical advice or interpret the information provided. Only health care providers can evaluate how health information may apply to a patient's specific situation, discuss medical conditions, and make health-related recommendations and suggestions.

Links, photos, or content shared from another site do not indicate endorsement by WRNMMC or by any other federal agency. Advice on the treatment or care of an individual patient should be obtained through consultation with a physician who has examined that patient or is familiar with that patient's medical history.

About the Portal

Welcome to Darnall Medical Library's Patient Health Education Portal. It is our goal to provide you with links to authoritative health information on the Internet.

There is a good deal of inaccurate information on the web. If you want to look up information online about a health topic, what sites should you trust? This portal answers that question.

The websites listed here have been evaluated by medical librarians based on credibility, sponsorship/authorship, content, audience, currency, disclosure, purpose, links, design, interactivity, and disclaimers. They contain reliable health information that you can trust. This portal also recommends free and inexpensive mobile health apps that have been reviewed by doctors.

Darnall Medical Library | Walter Reed NMMC | Building 1, Room 3458 | 8955 Wood Road | Bethesda, MD 20889 | 301-295-1184/85 | Open Monday-Friday, 0700-1730

After-hours access to the library is available to WRNMMC Staff via the CDO at 301-295-4611.