Skip to main content

Patient Health Education Portal: Neurology

The patient's guide to authoritative health information on the Internet.

Spot A Stroke FAST Mobile App

Spot a Stroke

The Spot A Stroke app helps the user identify the signs of a stroke. Read the review from iMedicalApps.

Emergency Medical Center Locator Mobile App

EMCL

The EMCL app helps the user identify the closest specialized emergency medical center for trauma, stroke, ophthalmology, pediatrics, cardiology, and burn care. Read the reviews from CardioSmart and medGadget.

My MS Manager Mobile App

My MS Manager

The My MS Manager app helps the user track relapses and symptoms, manage medications, and get the latest in research news. Read the review from Healthline.

National Institute on Aging: Alzheimer's Disease Education and Referral Center

Alzheimer's Disease Education & Referral Center

  • Provides comprehensive, unbiased information about Alzheimer's disease.
  • Includes news; information on clinical trials; legal and financial advice; advice for caregivers; and 130 factsheets and online books.
  • Allows the user to change the text size.
  • Spanish version available.

American Stroke Association

American Stroke Association

  • Provides information on strokes, such as warning signs, types, risk factors, diagnosis, treatment, and effects.
  • Includes printable patient education sheets; a guide on establishing a stroke support group; and advice on facing the challenges of life after stroke.
  • Spanish, Vietnamese, Simplified Chinese, and Traditional Chinese versions available.

The Michael J. Fox Foundation for Parkinson's Research

The Michael J. Fox Foundation for Parkinson's Research

  • Provides information on Parkinson's symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment options.
  • Includes information on the impact of Parkinson's on areas of life not addressed by other websites; a free monthly webinar and archive of previous webinars; and the Fox Trial Finder which matches registrants, both with and without Parkinson's, to clinical trials that need them.

Multiple Sclerosis Association of America

Multiple Sclerosis Association of America

  • Provides information on multiple sclerosis symptoms, diagnosis, and treatments.
  • Includes a helpline; MS glossary; recorded videos and webinars; a resource locator; a relapse resource center for information on relapses and treatment options; free brochures and publications; information on prescription assistance programs; a health insurance guide; resources in Spanish; and a lending library that allows anyone to borrow 1 book or CD at a time for up to 45 days.
  • Allows the user to change the text size.

National Institute of Neurological Disorders & Stroke

National Institute of Neurological Disorders & Stroke

  • Provides information on a variety of neurological disorders and associated clinical trials.
  • Includes links to organizations dealing with specific disorders and conditions.
  • Spanish version available.

National Multiple Sclerosis Society

National Multiple Sclerosis Society

  • Provides information on the employment, relationship, financial, and mobility issues related to MS.
  • Includes webcasts, brochures, and videos.

National Parkinson Foundation

National Parkinson Foundation

  • Provides information on Parkinson's diagnosis, treatment, and coping strategies.
  • Includes disease news; a glossary; guidance on legal and financial issues; a doctor and service locator search feature; resources for caregivers; a bilingual helpline; and an extensive video and webcast library.
  • Allows the user to change the text size.
  • Spanish version available.

National Stroke Association

National Stroke Association

  • Provides information on prevention, risk factors, treatment, and rehabilitation.
  • Includes free webinars; videos; downloadable brochures and factsheets; a list of Emergency Stroke Center locations; an online social network for caregivers; and information specific to women.
  • Allows the user to change the text size.
  • Spanish version available.

Contact A Librarian

Do you need help finding health information? Contact our clinical librarian.

Email   Email 
  Health Information Request
Phone

  Call 
  301-295-2325

Disclaimer: The librarians at Darnall Medical Library are happy to respond to requests for health information from WRNMMC patients and families. The librarians are not doctors and cannot provide medical advice or interpret the information provided. Only health care providers can evaluate how health information may apply to a patient's specific situation, discuss medical conditions, and make health-related recommendations and suggestions.

Links, photos, or content shared from another site do not indicate endorsement by WRNMMC or by any other federal agency. Advice on the treatment or care of an individual patient should be obtained through consultation with a physician who has examined that patient or is familiar with that patient's medical history.

WRNMMC Contacts

Neurology 
Location: Bldg 19, 6th Fl
Appointments: 301-295-6289 or 855-227-6331  
Hours: M-F, 0730-1600

IMPORTANT - A consult/referral is required for all visits.

Darnall Medical Library | Walter Reed NMMC | Building 1, Room 3458 | 8955 Wood Road | Bethesda, MD 20889 | 301-295-1184/85 | Open Monday-Friday, 0700-1730

After-hours access to the library is available to WRNMMC Staff via the CDO at 301-295-4611.