Skip to main content

Patient Health Education Portal: Childhood Cancer and Blood Disorders

The patient's guide to authoritative health information on the Internet.

CureSearch for Childrens Cancer: curesearch.org

CureSearch for Children's Cancer 

Provides descriptions and videos of the many tests and procedures that are used to learn about each type of children's cancer including the following and more:

Central lines 
Lumbar Punctures
Bone marrow biopsy

 

National Hemophilia Foundation: hemophilia.org

National Hemophilia Foundation

Provides information on:

Sickle Cell Disease Coalition: scdcoalition.org

Sickle Cell Disease Coalition

The Sickle Cell Disease Coalition provides resources and tools for families to explore and learn about Sickle Cell Disease and Sickle Cell Trait.

Cooley's Anemia Foundation: thalassemia.org

About Thalassemia

  • Provides information about the different forms of Thalassemia including Alpha, Beta, and Thalassemia trait and their treatment.
  • Downloadable brochures are available.

Children's Oncology Group (COG): childrensoncologygroup.org

The Children’s Oncology Group (COG)

A National Cancer Institute supported clinical trials group, is devoted exclusively to childhood and adolescent cancer research.  This website provides you with reliable information to guide you throughout all phases of the childhood cancer experience.

COG Family Handbook and New Diagnosis Guide

The Children's Oncology Group Family Handbook 2nd Edition, provides families with reliable information about treatment, support, and follow-up care for children and young people with cancer.

The New Diagnosis Guide is designed to use with the Family Handbook for focused teaching of essential content at the time of diagnosis.

National Cancer Institute (NCI): cancer.gov

Childhood Cancers

Provides information about the various types of childhood cancer, treatment, coping and survivorship.

Spanish version

Adolescents and Young Adults with Cancer

Provides information and videos about adolescent and young adult cancer including treatment, coping and survivorship.

Spanish version

Leukemia and Lymphoma Society: lls.org

Leukemia and Lymphoma Society

Provides information to learn about the types of cancer, coping, long term effects, and follow up care.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC): cdc.gov

CDC: Sickle Cell Disease

CDC provides information for families on Sickle Cell Disease and Sickle Cell trait including the following:

Contact A Librarian

Do you need help finding health information? Contact our clinical librarian.

Email   Email 
  Health Information Request
Phone

  Call 
  301-295-2325

Disclaimer: The librarians at Darnall Medical Library are happy to respond to requests for health information from WRNMMC patients and families. The librarians are not doctors and cannot provide medical advice or interpret the information provided. Only health care providers can evaluate how health information may apply to a patient's specific situation, discuss medical conditions, and make health-related recommendations and suggestions.

Links, photos, or content shared from another site do not indicate endorsement by WRNMMC or by any other federal agency. Advice on the treatment or care of an individual patient should be obtained through consultation with a physician who has examined that patient or is familiar with that patient's medical history.

WRNMMC Contacts

Pediatric Hematology/Oncology Service
Location: Bldg 19, 4th Fl
Telephone: 301-400-1663/1664
Hours: M-F, 0730 - 1600

Acknowledgements

Special thanks to the patients, families and providers of WRNMMC.  Special thanks to S. Echelmeyer for graphic image designs.

Darnall Medical Library | Walter Reed NMMC | Building 1, Room 3458 | 8955 Wood Road | Bethesda, MD 20889 | 301-295-1184/85 | Open Monday-Friday, 0700-1730

After-hours access to the library is available to WRNMMC Staff via the CDO at 301-295-4611.