Literature Search & Databases
Evidence-Based Medicine/Evidence-Based Practice
Introduction to Systematic Review (Instructor Dr. Tmanova)
This lecture introduces the purpose, structure, components, process of a systematic review, systematic review standards, and guidelines for conducting a systematic review. Systematic review management methods, approaches, and tools are also discussed. The Darnall Medical Library collaborative initiative in conducting a systematic review and value of clinician-librarian research collaboration is introduced. Attendees will understand the systematic review process, requirements, standards, and guidelines.
Introduction to Literature Review (Instructor Dr. Tmanova)
This lecture introduces the principles and methodology of literature review for writing an academic review article. Study topics, problem, research question, and research literature are main topics of the lecture. Information resources, research methodologies, and approaches will be introduced for the development of a review article (rapid, scoping, systematic review, critical, and state-of-art review). Students will engage in a literature review project to enhance their skills in the review development, literature synthesis, and academic writing.
Citation Management (Instructor Dr. Tmanova)
This lecture introduces the principles of citing information resources in scholarly articles. Fundamentals of citation management and the use of citation management applications during the research process and scientific writing will be discussed. Citation management principles and processes are discussed during gathering, classifying, storing, and processing citations to design individual citation libraries. This lecture emphasizes the prominence of the citation cycle and offers guidance on how to lessen citation issues and effectively disambiguate authors. This lecture concentrates on various citation management software predominantly on EndNote. Attendees will learn how to create an EndNote citation library, collect citations from various information resources (e.g., biomedical literature databases, search engines, legal databases, and etc.), classify citations, generate and style citations in text, bibliographies, share and connect library with collaborators, and write and cite with EndNote. Attendees will develop proficiency in citing various information sources, using EndNote for citation management, and managing a large volume of literature citations by applying an effective citation management strategies.
Academic & Medical Writing (Instructor Dr. Tmanova)
This lecture accompanied by two projects on academic and medical writing is designed for clinicians and residents publishing research findings in scholarly journals. The lecture introduces the fundamentals of academic and medical writing, particularly writing research and case study articles. The literate search, analysis, and synthesis will be introduced. This lecture will discuss planning, writing, and submitting a manuscript for publication in academic journals. Two writing projects will be introduced to enhance learner skills on writing research and medical articles: abstract, introduction, material and methods, results, and discussion. Students will enhance their academic writing skills by developing proficiency in literature search, critical appraisal, and synthesis.
Navigating the Darnall Medical Library: Service and Resources Online (Instructor Ms. Holman)
Did you know that the Darnall Medical Library (DML) has over 8,000 books and more than 11,000 unique journal titles? How do you dig through that haystack to find the needle you're looking for? This 45 minute session provides an overview of library services and available resources. We're here to save you time, but we also want you to be able to find the information you need in a pinch.
Literature Searching 101 (Instructor Ms. Mason-Coles)
You will learn new skills and sharpen existing skills in this foundational workshop for literature searching. The skills obtained from this workshop area applicable in searching across all medical literature databases. You will learn to develop search strategies for specific clinical or research interests. Great refresher course for lit searching!
Searching PubMed (Instructor Ms. Clarke)
Discover the secrets to effectively searching PubMed, the world’s leading biomedical literature database! In this introductory workshop, you will learn the best practices of keyword searching, explore MeSH (Medical Subjects Headings), discover how PubMed interprets your searches, and get to craft an advanced search. Additionally, we will explore how to filter and refine search results, locate related citations, and find the full-text article. We will utilize MyNCBI’s feature to save searches and results.
Introduction to Ethics of Academic Writing and Publication (Instructor Dr. Tmanova)
This lecture introduces the standards and guidelines of ethical writing, research theft and predatory publishing, plagiarism, research integrity in writing and communicating research and research data, copyright and intellectual property rights, research integrity, and research forensics used for the detection of plagiarism.
Information about the library courses: workshops, lectures, and other education methods used in DML.
Research lecture might require course prerequisites. Research courses might also require students to have their ongoing projects.
Research lectures are designed to develop research skills and competencies in learners.
Research lecture outlines two or three lecture objectives to enhance learners subject knowledge or skill set development, yet depending on the course timeline.
Research courses will have a mini-project that will require independent learning and course collaboration. Research lectures, structured on course projects, are designed to develop research skills and competencies.
Darnall Medical Library | Walter Reed NMMC | Building 1, Room 3458 | 8955 Wood Road | Bethesda, MD 20889 | 301-295-1184/85 | Open Monday-Friday, 0700-1630
After-hours access to the library is available to WRNMMC Staff via the CDO at 301-295-4611.