Skip to main content
For an A-Z list of all of the library's databases, please go to the library's Databases page.
Sample Search Terms: Patient Safety
Search terms will vary, depending on the database you are using. Below is a list of useful terms, with Medical Subject Headings noted (used in PubMed and MEDLINE OvidSP). Be prepared to use synonyms in your searches, as patient safety is a relatively new concept to the literature.
- Patient Safety [MeSH, added 2012]
- patient AND safety
- Accident Prevention [MeSH]
- Medical Errors [MeSH]
- Iatrogenic Disease [MeSH]
- Disclosure [MeSH]
- Truth Disclosure [MeSH]
- Liablity [MeSH]
- Malpractice [MeSH]
- Safety Management [MeSH]
- Risk Management [MeSH}
- surgical procedure
- Checklist [MeSH, added 2010]
- surgical safety checklist
Sample Search Terms: Quality Improvement
Search terms will vary, depending on the database you are using. Below is a list of useful terms, with Medical Subject Headings noted (used in PubMed and MEDLINE OvidSP). Be prepared to use synonyms in your searches, as QI is a relatively new concept to the literature.
- Quality Improvement[MeSH, added 2011]
- quality AND improvement
- Quality of Health Care[MeSH]
- Quality Assurance, Health Care[MeSH]
- Quality Indicators, Health Care[MeSH]
- Health Plan Implementation[MeSH]
- Total Quality Managment[MeSH]
- Health Care Quality, Access, and Evaluation[MeSH]
- Cost of Illness[MeSH]
- Outcome Assessment, Health Care[MeSH]
Selected Databases for Quality & Patient Safety
The Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases containing different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making including:
Contact the Darnall Medical Library (DML)
For WRNNMC Patients
- TRICARE Appointment Line: 855-227-6331
- Walter Reed NMMC Main Phone: 301-295-4611
- TRICARE Health Services (Includes phone numbers)
Researching a medical condition?
Click on the button below!
For WRNNMC Healthcare Providers
Darnall Medical Library | Walter Reed NMMC | Building 1, Room 3458 | 8955 Wood Road | Bethesda, MD 20889 | 301-295-1184/85 | Open Monday-Friday, 0700-1730
After-hours access to the library is available to WRNMMC Staff via the CDO at 301-295-4611.