Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Welcome to Darnall Medical Library: Library Courses

Providing quality information and services to support the readiness and care of the Uniformed Services and their families.

Darnal Medical Library Classes & Lectures

Darnall Medical Library (DML) offers information literacy, scientific communication, and subject-specific instructions and lectures. These courses are scheduled quarterly and are also taught upon request. DML librarians have a broad experience in Evidence Based Medicine and Scientific Communication and can develop training for your learners.

Other Learning Opportunities

Course Calendar

Register for DML courses and scientific communication lectures at our Course Calendar.

Training Development

Test Box

Darnall Medical Library Courses & Lectures

Select classes are available in virtual formats for individual or group training. Please contact the library listserv to request a class while in-person courses are suspended.


Training for Searching:

  • Searching PubMed 
    • Discover the secrets of effectively searching PubMed (MEDLINE), the world’s leading biomedical literature database! In this introductory workshop, you will learn the best practices of keyword searching, how PubMed interprets your searches, and how to craft an advanced search. Additionally, we will explore how to filter and refine search results, locate related citations, and find the full-text article. We will use the MyNCBI feature to save searches and results. 
  • Literature Searching 101
    • Participants will learn the foundations of literature searching which can be used in searching across all medical literature databases. With the foundational skills learned, we will be able to develop search strategies for specific clinical or research interests. Great refresher course for searching!
  • Literature Searching: Web of Science
    • This lightning talk provides literature searching information strategies for the exploration of published literature using Web of Science databases for development of research study.  
  • Providing Health Information to Your Patients at the Point of Care
    • Have patients mentioned their attempts to Google diagnosis or treatment information? What resources do you consider when providing your patients with health education materials?   In this workshop, participants will learn to search for and retrieve the Darnall Medical Library's subscription based patient education resources. Participants will also learn to search the  Patient Health Education Portal (PHEP) - free online patient health information resources that are vetted, reliable, and credible. Participants will learn tools to identify reliable patient health information resources at the point of care!

Training in Citation Management

  • Managing Reference Citations with EndNote 
    • Available as both Endnote Web (your traveling library) and Endnote Desktop formats
    • This workshop will help you to develop basic skills in bibliographic management using EndNote citation manager. In this hands-on class, you will create an online account via the Darnall Medical Library and will create a reference library accessible anywhere/anytime, collect citations from various biomedical literature databases, organize references, generate and format bibliographies, share your library electronically with peers, and insert references into a Word document. 
  • Citation Management
    • This lecture introduces the fundamentals of citation information management. 

Other General Classes:

  • Article Retrieval: What to do when Plan A Fails
    • You have used the skills from our PubMed classes to create a search. Now you have a list of articles you want to read. The "Locate@Darnall" link is meant to take you straight to the article you want, but sometimes it does not work properly. This class will help you troubleshoot the common error messages you get when the Locate@Darnall link does not work.
  • Keeping Up with the Literature
    • Keeping up with current biomedical research can be overwhelming. Imagine having one single list of articles from your favorite journals, newspapers, web sites, and blogs which you could peruse at your leisure. We will show you ways you can keep current by setting up search alerts and browsing your top journals in a mobile-friendly way. 

EBM classes are available in virtual formats for individual or group training. We also work on a departmental level for EBM & Journal Clubs. Please contact the library listserv to request a class while in-person courses are suspended.


Check out EBM resources in special departments

  • Conducting Research. (Instructor Dr. Tmanova)

This lecture introduces the process of conducting research, development of the research question and hypothesis, literature analysis, research methods, data management, and research integrity.

  • Ethics in Academic Writing and Publication. (Instructor Dr. Tmanova)

This lecture introduces the standards and guidelines of ethical writing, research theft and predatory publishing, plagiarism, research integrity in writing and communicating research and research data, copyright and intellectual property rights, research integrity, and research forensics used for the detection of plagiarism. 

  • Scientific Writing: Academic Article. (Instructor Dr. Tmanova)

This lecture is an introduction to the writing an academic article, submission and review, authorship guidelines, copyright and intellectual property rights, research integrity, and ethics of publication.

  • Scientific Communication. (Instructor Dr. Tmanova)

This lecture is an introduction to the development of  a scientific presentation for communication of scholarly research.

  • Research Data Management. (Instructor Dr. Tmanova)

This lecture introduces a concept of data-driven research, research data management, data management planning for grant proposals, and DoD biomedical research and data policy.

  • Writing a Systematic Review. (Instructor Dr. Tmanova)

This lecture provides an overview of the purpose, structure, components, writing process of systematic review, and systematic review standards and guidelines.

  • Disaster Medicine Tools. (Instructor Ann Holman)
    This talk will cover resources of use to healthcare providers and first responders in the event of medical emergencies.
     
  • Medical Genetics Resources I. (Instructor Dr. Tmanova)
    This lecture describes the National Center for Biotechnology Information molecular databases on medical genetics, genetic tests, and laboratories.
     
  • Systematic Review Protocol. (Instructor Dr. Tmanova)
    This lecture introduce the concepts of protocol development for a systematic reviews, protocol registration with Cochrane and PROSPERO, and standards and guidelines for writing a systematic review.
     
  • Literature Informatics. (Instructor Dr. Tmanova)
    This lecture introduces the analysis of multidisciplinary literature, information management, and information synthesis for the development of research studies.

  • Literature Review (Instructor Dr. Tmanova)
    This lecture is an introduction to principles and methodology for conduction of literature review, analysis of literature, planing literature review, research development, literature analysis and synthesis, and writing literature review draft. 

  • Research Question for a Scientific Study (Instructor Dr. Tmanova)
    This lecture introduces the process of research question development and planning the literature analysis for scientific studies. 

Of interest: What is Information Literacy: Why Do We Teach It?

What is Information Literacy? 

"Information literacy is a set of abilities requiring individuals to 'recognize when information is needed and have the ability to locate, evaluate, and use effectively the needed information."

                                         American Library Association 

What are the Concepts of Information Literacy? 

Information Literacy Concepts for Higher Education:

  • Authority Is Constructed and Contextual
  • Information Creation as a Process
  • Information Has Value
  • Research as Inquiry
  • Scholarship as Conversation
  • Searching as Strategic Exploration

                          Framework For Information Literacy for Higher Education 

Why Do We Teach Information Literacy? 

"Information literacy empowers people in all walks of life to seek, evaluate, use and create information effectively to achieve their personal, social, occupational and educational goals. It is a basic human right in a digital world and promotes social inclusion in all nations."

Alexandria Proclamation on Information Literacy and Lifelong Learning. (2005). Information literacy | United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization. Retrieved April 29, 2016.

 

What Does It Mean to Be "Information Literate"?

  • understand of digital information and digital world
  • discover and understand the meaning of the information
  • understand what information is required
  • be an ethical information user and ethical steward of information
  • understand the role of information in your profession
  • learn to evaluate information for authority, validity, and credibility
     

Coonan, E., & Jane, S. (2014, April 29). "My dolly’s bigger than your dolly”, or, Why our labels no longer matter. 

If you have questions and need guidance with the development of information literacy courses and trainings, please contact informationist, Dr. Tmanova. Also, follow educational blog Information & Knowledge.

 

Disclaimer: The appearance of hyperlinks does not constitute endorsement by the Department of Defense, Defense Health Agency of non-U.S. Government sites or the information, products, or services contained therein. Although the Darnall Medical Library, WRNMMC may or may not use these sites as additional distribution channels for Department of Defense information, it does not exercise editorial control over all of the information that you may find at these locations. Such hyperlinks are provided consistent with the stated purpose of this website.

Darnall Medical Library | Walter Reed NMMC | Building 1, Room 3458 | 8955 Wood Road | Bethesda, MD 20889 | 301-295-1184/85 | Open Monday-Friday, 0700-1730

After-hours access to the library is available to WRNMMC Staff via the CDO at 301-295-4611.