Skip to Main Content

Systematic Review: Collaboration

DML Systematic Review Collaboration Initiative


Collaboration Mission

Enhance the quality of systematic review and clinical care. 

Systematic Review Collaboration Team 
Coordinator

  • Dr. Tmanova, MLIS, MS, DVM 

Librarian Team

                   Holman, A, MLS

                  Mason-Coles, M, MLIS

Systematic Review Collaboration Summary


Darnall Medical Library librarians collaborate with clinical teams in conducting a systematic review. The initiative also offers consultations and lectures on planning systematic review, requirements, systematic review protocol, and research question development.

Collaboration

The Systematic Review Coordinator and Librarian are committed to collaborating with the WRNMMC clinical team on conducting systematic reviews and contributing to the article as co-author using the ICMJE publication guideline. The collaboration involves these steps of the systematic review process:

  • Conduct the preliminary analysis of published literature to explore the publication of systematic reviews on the submitted topic by the clinical team
  • Formulate the searchable research question using the submitted study protocol, research question, and hypothesis
  • Advise clinical team on the selection of the literature databases, subject-specific resources (databases, journals), and grey literature for literature search
  • Create the search strategy and methodology using search commands, syntax, controlled vocabulary, and filters to explore the studied phenomena in literature databases
  • Conduct the literature search in selected databases using the designed search methodology 
  • Aggregate citations using the EndNote citation management tool as the outcome of the literature search
  • Deliver the search results to the clinical team after the removing duplicate using the EndNote citation tool 
  • Create the systematic review collaboration communication document and use for communication with the clinical team and documenting the search process 
  • Deliver the systematic review collaboration communication document to the clinical team after the search process by documenting the systematic review collaboration steps  
  • Conduct the manuscript pre-submission literature search before the submission for publication and deliver the search results using the EndNote citation tool
  • Write the search methodology for the study (abstract, methods and material, and appendix)
  • Consult clinical team on article publication and journal selection
  • Consult the clinical team on article writing, standards, guidelines, submission, and review process
  • Submit the record of the collaborative communication documentation, search strategy, and written methodology to the systematic review coordinator

For collaboration with DML librarians on conducting a systematic review, submit a Systematic Review Collaboration and schedule consultation with DML Systematic Review Coordinator Dr. Tmanova. 

Information on the systematic review process and DML resources are at the library guide Conducting Systematic Review 

What are collaboration requirements? 

Darnall Medical Library (DML) librarians collaborate with a clinical team on conducting a systematic review (SR). The systematic review protocol and systematic review request are required for collaboration with librarians. Please, provide the required information before submitting the request for collaboration on conducting a systematic review. 

​SR collaboration requirements:

  • Systematic Review Protocol
  • Systematic Review Collaboration request from the lead SR author

Other SR collaboration requirements:

  • SR collaboration requestor is WRNMMC clinician
  • SR collaboration authors remain stationed at WRNMMC for three years (minimum)
  • SR team consists from two subject-specialists (minimum)
  • Librarian co-authorship of SR article
  • The International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) recommends determination of the authorship using criteria
  • Substantial contributions to the conception and design, acquisition, analysis, and interpretation of data.
  • Drafting and revising it critically for significant intellectual content
  • Approving the final version to be published
  • Accepting accountability addressing and resolving any issues about integrity of the research study

​SR requests from other military universities are not accepted

To request a systematic review collaboration, please, submit a systematic review protocol and collaboration request on conducting a systematic review. 

For additional information on research protocol, explore the Research Protocol information on the systematic review process. 

How will the collaboration with librarian help you? 
 

During the systematic review collaboration with clinical team the librarian provides:

  • Substantial contributions to the conception and design, acquisition, analysis, and interpretation of data
  • Drafting and revising it critically for significant intellectual content
  • Approving the final version to be published
  • Accepting accountability addressing and resolving any issues about integrity of the research study

Additional substantial contribution to collaborative project on conducting and writing systematic review by librarians are provided during the systematic review process and following systematic review milestones: searchable research question formulation, study design and protocol development, literature search strategy and methodology development, and publication. 

Graph by Dr. Tmanova 

  • Research Question 
    • Preliminary study exploration
    • Assists with study questions formulation for literature search 
  • Research Protocol 
    • Develops literature search strategy
    • Writes literature search methodology 
  • Study Design 
    • Creates literature search strategy
    • Writes search methodology for inclusion in abstracts, methods and materials, appendix
  • Literature Search 
    • Performs literature search and gathers reported empirical evidence from literature resources
    • Aggregates and remove duplicate reference citations, and delivers citation library
  • Publication 
    • Assist with journal selection
    • Assist with systematic review publication and submission guidelines
    • Assist with writing and revising article critically for intellectual content
    • Approve the final version of the article for publication 
    • Agree to be accountable for all aspects of publication and the ICMJE authorship criteria

Lecture 

  • Conducting a Systematic Review
    This lecture introduce the concepts of protocol development for a systematic reviews, protocol registration with Cochrane and PROSPERO, and standards and guidelines for writing a systematic review.

  • Research Question for Scientific Study 
    This lecture introduces the process of research question development and planning the literature analysis for scientific studies. 

  • Research Protocol Development 
    This lecture introduce the concepts of protocol development for a systematic reviews, protocol registration with Cochrane and PROSPERO, and standards and guidelines for writing a systematic review.

  • Literature Review
    ​This lecture is introduction to principles and methodology for conduction of literature review, analysis of literature, planning literature review, research development, literature analysis and synthesis, and writing literature review draft.

  • Literature Informatics
    This lecture introduces the analysis of multidisciplinary literature from various literature search databases, information management, and information synthesis for the development of research studies.

  • Literature Searching: Web of Science
    This lecture introduces the literature searching strategies for the exploration of published literature using Web of Science databases for the development of the scientific study.  

  • DML Courses - information literacy, scientific communication, and subject-specific instructions and lectures.

To attend a lecture on writing a systematic review, please, register at the Library Course calendar. 

Consultation 

  • Systematic Review Collaboration - is a collaborative effort of the librarian-clinicians team to enhance the systematic review quality.

To request systematic review collaboration, please, submit a systematic review protocol and collaboration request on conducting a systematic review. 

  • Conducting Systematic Review  - on conducting systematic review. The scope of the Systematic Review consultation is:
    • exploration of systematic review resources
    • selection of information resources 
    • search methodology
    • citation management 
    • systematic review standards and guidelines

To request a systematic review consultation in conducting a systematic review, please, submit a Systematic Review consultation  

  • Systematic Review Data Management
    Consultation on best practices of systematic review data management 
    • literature management 
    • design the data plan for systematic review data extraction
    • plan data extraction and cleaning
    • data organization planning (flow charts, quality assessment, literature analysis)
    • plan systematic review and meta-analysis data (including planning for article, forest plot, funnel plot) 

      Please, contact Systematic Review Coordinator, Dr. Tmanova.
  • Article Publication - on article publication process. The scope of Article Publication consultation is:
    • authorship guidelines and standards
    • research integrity 
    • Open Access
    • publication repositories 
    • military publication guidelines 
    • Copyright and Intellectual Property
    • Research Impact
    • article publication process (guidelines and standards, journal analysis, and journal selection)  
    • article writing 

To request a consultation on article publication, please, submit a consultation request Scientific Writing. 

  • Data Analysis - on conducting statistical analysis using IBM SPSS software package and data analysis.
    • exploring data 
    • descriptive statistics
    • inferential statistics
    • linear model analysis 
    • ANOVA

To request consultation on data analysis, please, contact Systematic Review Coordinator, Dr. Tmanova. 

  • Data Communication - on communicating a study data in the article, conference talks, and presentation.
    • understanding and interpreting the data
    • principles of data communication
    • information visualization
    • designing the scientific story 

To request consultation on data communication, please, contact Systematic Review Coordinator, 
Dr. Tmanova. 

Darnall Medical Library | Walter Reed NMMC | Building 1, Room 3458 | 8955 Wood Road | Bethesda, MD 20889 | 301-295-1184/85 | Open Monday-Friday, 0700-1630

After-hours access to the library is available to WRNMMC Staff via the CDO at 301-295-4611.