WRNMMC affiliates are welcome to attend Scientific Initiative's the 2024 Research Day in the Library information conference.
October 25, 2024
8:00 am - 12:00 pm Research Readiness in Military Medicine
Presentations on research and information readiness, research in military medicine, and statistical research methodology will be conducted in DoD Teams. Should you have questions about the attendance of these presentations, please contact Dr. Tmanova.
12:00 pm - 15:00 pm Navigating Literature Resources
Presentations about various literature resources will be conducted in MS Teams. To attend the Navigating Literature Resources presentations, please register using 2024 Research Day in the Library Conference Registration form.
1200-1300 ProQuest Central. Marc Cormier, Senior Manager, Clarivate Product Management ProQuest
ProQuest Central brings together many of our most used databases to create the most comprehensive, diverse, and relevant multidisciplinary research database available. It provides access to databases across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports all together on a powerful, user-friendly platform. With its clean interface and responsive design, the ProQuest platform delivers a modern research experience that guides users' discovery, access, and management of rich, varied content sources.
1300-1400 Web of Science Research Assistant. Marisa Ruccolo, MLIS. Director, Clarivate Customer Success
Success Web of Science Research Assistant is the new generative AI-powered tool helping researchers find key papers faster, handle
complex research tasks and visualize connections. The chat interface combined with the Web of Science knowledge graph allows researchers to get more out of their interactions with 120 years of trusted publication and citation data in the Web of Science Core Collection.
1400-1500 Health and Medical Collection. Justin Guinup, Clarivate Senior Product Manager
The Health & Medical Collection is uniquely suited for libraries with users who require content for learning and researching biomedical science and related subject areas. Our content helps health science librarians meet the research needs of many audiences, whether they're supporting a clinical research study or providing faculty with instructional multimedia content to help students connect theory to practice.
Scholarly Excellence. Research Curiosity and Education
November 15, 2024
12:00 pm - 13:00 pm Research: prospects and challenges. Dr. Tmanova, Research Librarian, Darnall Medical Library
The lecture will introduce the challenges and prospects experienced by researchers in designing and conducting research. We will also discuss the publication process and scholarly publishing. The lecture uses exemplary research projects to explore the evolving opportunities for collaboration and research conduct. The digital transformation of scholarly publishing highlights various issues associated with digital research and publication. The lecture will familiarize students with the prospects of designing robust research studies. Students will learn about the integrity of research conduct and scholarly publication.
Lecture will be conducted in DoD Teams. Registration is required. You may register for this lecture at the DML's 2024 The Research Day in the Library Conference calendar, Research prospects and challenges.
November 27, 2024
12:00 pm - 12:45 pm Literature Search Coding. Dr. Tmanova, Research Librarian, Darnall Medical Library
This lecture will introduce digital tools for searching published literature. Application of R and RStudio to explore published literature will be discussed. Students will acquire fundamental skills in using R and RStudio to construct a literature search. This lecture will also investigate the value of programming languages, digital tools, and AI in conducting literature searches for research study designs. The lecture will familiarize students with the application of artificial intelligence (AI) for literature evaluation and digital ethics.
Lecture will be conducted in DoD Teams. Registration is required. You may register for this lecture at the DML's 2024 The Research Day in the Library Conference calendar, Literature Search Coding.
If you have questions about the Research Day in the Library conference, speakers, and presentations, please ask Dr. Tmanova, DVM, MS, MLIS, Research Librarian, Darnall Medical Library
Disclaimer: The appearance of hyperlinks does not constitute endorsement by the Department of Defense, Defense Health Agency of non-U.S. Government sites or the information, products, or services contained therein. Although the Darnall Medical Library, WRNMMC may or may not use these sites as additional distribution channels for Department of Defense information, it does not exercise editorial control over all of the information that you may find at these locations. Such hyperlinks are provided consistent with the stated purpose of this website.
Darnall Medical Library | Walter Reed NMMC | Building 1, Room 3458 | 8955 Wood Road | Bethesda, MD 20889 | 301-295-1184/85 | Open Monday-Friday, 0700-1630
After-hours access to the library is available to WRNMMC Staff via the CDO at 301-295-4611.
