Patient Health Education Portal: Behavioral Health

The Step Away app helps patients independently manage a drinking problem. Read the review from iMedicalApps.

The PTSD Coach app was developed by the Department of Veterans Affairs to help users learn about and manage symptoms that often occur after trauma.

Psychological Health Center of Excellence Mobile Applications
Scroll down to "Patient Focused"

Anxiety & Depression Association of America

• Provides comprehensive information on the various anxiety and depressive disorders and how to cope with them.
• Includes videos; podcasts; statistics; brochures; screening tools; and links to other organizations.

Eating Disorders

• Provides information on Anorexia Nervosa, Binge Eating, and Bulimia.
• Includes discussion of possible causes and symptoms.
• Brochure: Eating Disorders: About More Than Food
  • Available in Spanish.
     

National Alliance on Mental Issues

• Provides information on mental health disorders and conditions, including the symptoms, causes, diagnosis, treatments, and coping strategies.
• Includes videos; free publications; a helpline; a Multicultural Action Center with resources on mental health issues in cultural and linguistic minority populations; information on navigating the legal system for mental illness sufferers; and information on medications and prescription drug assistance programs.
• Spanish version available.

National Center for PTSD

• Provides information specific to veterans and their families about PTSD, assessment, treatment, coping, and other trauma-related problems.
• Includes videos and a PTSD Coach mobile app that provides information on PTSD; a screening tool; a feature to track your symptoms; Spanish language publications; and links to support.

National Institute of Mental Health

• Provides information on signs, symptoms, prevention, and treatment of depression, bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, ADHD, and PTSD and other anxiety disorders.
• Includes videos and audio recordings; statistics; downloadable and free print publications in English and Spanish; and information about clinical trials currently recruiting participants.

National Institute on Drug Abuse

• Provides information on drugs of abuse and related topics.
• Includes news; an emerging trends alert; statistics; videos; podcasts; and a database of free publications searchable by drug, audience, or topic.

The National Suicide Prevention Lifeline provides free and confidential emotional support to people in suicidal crisis or emotional distress 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, by dialing 1-800-273-8255.

Service members, including members of the National Guard and Reserve, and Veterans, even if you are not registered with the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) or enrolled in VA health care, can talk to a crisis responder from the VA 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, by dialing 1-800-273-8255 or texting 838255.

Do you need help finding health information? Contact our clinical librarian.

	Email    Health Information Request

Scan the QR code below to access on your phone or tablet!

https://wrnmmc.libguides.com/patient

Disclaimer: The librarians at Darnall Medical Library are happy to respond to requests for health information from WRNMMC patients and families. The librarians are not doctors and cannot provide medical advice or interpret the information provided. Only health care providers can evaluate how health information may apply to a patient's specific situation, discuss medical conditions, and make health-related recommendations and suggestions.

Links, photos, or content shared from another site do not indicate endorsement by WRNMMC or by any other federal agency. Advice on the treatment or care of an individual patient should be obtained through consultation with a physician who has examined that patient or is familiar with that patient's medical history.

Behavioral Health

Adult Inpatient Unit
Location: Bldg 10W, 7th Fl
Phone: 301-295-4095
Visiting Hours: Mon-Fri, 1600-1900;
     Weekends & holidays, 1300-1900
                     
Adult Outpatient Clinic
Location: Bldg 19, 6th Fl
Phone: 301-295-0500
Hours: Mon-Thu, 0700-1700; Fri, 7-4

Older Adult Clinic
Location: Bldg 19, 6th Fl
Phone: 301-319-8852
Hours: M-F, 0730-1600

Child & Adolescent Outpatient
Location: Bldg 19, 4th Fl
Phone: 301-295-0576
Hours: M-F, 0700-1600

Substance Abuse Rehabilitation Program
Location: Bldg 7, 4th Fl
Phone: 301-400-1298
Hours: M-F, 0730-1630