Patient Health Education Portal: Comprehensive Health Information

The Spot A Stroke app helps the user identify the signs of a stroke. Read the review from iMedicalApps.

The EMCL app helps the user identify the closest specialized emergency medical center for trauma, stroke, ophthalmology, pediatrics, cardiology, and burn care. Read the reviews from CardioSmart and medGadget.

The First Aid app provides lifesaving first aid instruction for everyday emergencies and disaster preparedness information. Read the review from iMedicalApps.

Cleveland Clinic

This external link is for information purposes only. For appointments, please visit TRICARE.mil.

• Provides information on over 900 health topics and information on diagnostics and testing, treatments and procedures, and medical devices.
• Includes podcasts; webcasts; a live chat service with a health information search specialist available Monday-Friday, 10:00 AM-1:30 PM EST; and an Online Learning Center to increase knowledge about specific conditions and treatments.

ClinicalTrials.gov

• Provides the purpose, design, participant eligibility, results, and contact information for all federally- and privately-supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and in 187 countries.
• Includes a glossary and a thorough FAQs page to help patients understand all facets of clinical trials.
• Allows the user to change the text size.

Genetics Home Reference Center

• Provides easy-to-read information about the effects of genetic variations on human health.
• Includes the genetics of over 1,000 heath conditions, diseases, and syndromes; a glossary of medical and genetic terms; information on over 1,200 genes; and an illustrated handbook on how genes work, how mutations cause disorders, genetic testing, and gene therapy.

HealthFinder.gov

• Provides resources on a wide range of health topics selected from over 1,400 government and non-profit organizations.
• Includes an encyclopedia of over 1600 health topics; health news; personal health tools; and a services locator.
• Spanish version available.

Household Products Database

• Provides information about the products found in and around the home, such as bathroom cleaners, lawn fertilizers, hair spray, and cat litter, and their potential health effects.

Medical Tests

• Provides easy-to-read, quality consumer health information.
• Includes information on nearly 200 tests, including what the tests are used for, why a doctor may order a test, how a test will feel, and what the results may mean.
• Spanish version available.

• How to Understand Your Lab Results

WomensHealth.gov

• Provides information on health concerns of women and on the signs, symptoms, and treatments for women's health conditions.
• Includes free books and fact sheets on a multitude of women's health issues.
• Allows the user to change the text size.
• Spanish version available.

Do you need help finding health information? Contact our clinical librarian.

	Email    Health Information Request

Scan the QR code below to access on your phone or tablet!

https://wrnmmc.libguides.com/patient

Disclaimer: The librarians at Darnall Medical Library are happy to respond to requests for health information from WRNMMC patients and families. The librarians are not doctors and cannot provide medical advice or interpret the information provided. Only health care providers can evaluate how health information may apply to a patient's specific situation, discuss medical conditions, and make health-related recommendations and suggestions.

Links, photos, or content shared from another site do not indicate endorsement by WRNMMC or by any other federal agency. Advice on the treatment or care of an individual patient should be obtained through consultation with a physician who has examined that patient or is familiar with that patient's medical history.

MHS Nurse Advice Line
Phone: 800-874-2273
Hours: 24/7