Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To Identify and locate all of the library's print and electronic books, search the library's book catalog.
Can I download or print an eBook?
It depends on the company providing the eBook. Please refer to the library's FAQ page to see each company's policy regarding printing and downloading eBooks.
Child and Adolescent Psychiatry for the Specialty Board Review by This new, thoroughly revised edition of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry for the Specialty Board Review offers updated information, along with the most recent references and knowledge reflected in those changes. The authors especially incorporate new information and changes from DSM-5. Both general and child/adolescent psychiatrists will find this new edition invaluable, not only as a guide for preparing for their first successful Board examination, but also as a review in preparing for important re-certification exams. The book includes hundreds of multiple-choice questions, modeled after the types of questions on the actual boards. This challenging update, with new references and more relevant questions, will help readers to learn new information and be better prepared for their board examinations. Because the authors rewrote the majority of questions to cover a broader knowledge base, readers may find it useful to use the 4th edition as a companion book of the 3rd edition.
Call Number: Purchase Pending
Publication Date: 2014-10-08
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings -- inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5® easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.
Publication Date: 2013-05-22
Dulcan's Textbook Child and Adolescent Psychiatry by Since publication of the first edition, Dulcan's Textbook of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry has become the recognized standard in child and adolescent psychiatry textbooks. In this thoroughly revised second edition, the editor and chapter authors, leaders in the field of child and adolescent mental health, have again provided a complete, state-of-the-art textbook with notable updates and improvements that enhance accessibility and learning. The new edition is more concise and compact, while remaining comprehensive in scope. The number of chapters has been reduced to sharpen the book's focus on topics most relevant to clinical work. The textbook reflects the new DSM-5 classifications that all clinicians and trainees must know to function in today's health care environment. Many other features contribute to the textbook's user-friendly design and broad appeal: * Chapters on the disorders (neurodevelopmental, psychiatric, and those affecting somatic function) have a consistent structure of definition and clinical description, diagnosis, epidemiology, comorbidity, etiology and risk factors, prevention, course and prognosis, evaluation, and treatments, making it easy for readers to locate information and facilitating learning.* The textbook is useful as both a core textbook for child and adolescent psychiatry fellowship training and a reference for a wide variety of health care professionals, including pediatricians, family physicians, general psychiatrists, child neurologists, psychologists, advanced practice nurses, and psychiatric social workers.* The full range of psychosocial treatments is included, focusing on individuals, families, therapeutic milieus, and systemic models of care. The increasing emphasis on taking mental health care beyond the clinician's office is reflected in chapters on consultations related to schools and to primary care. * A section on specialized topics includes chapters on a range of critically important issues, including evidence-based practice, cultural and religious issues, legal and ethical issues, and telehealth.* Each chapter in the book ends with "Summary Points," take-away messages that emphasize the most important concepts and promote consolidation of knowledge.* The section Additional Resources includes selected books for professionals and web sites for professionals, patients, and families, which provide avenues for further study and connections with others treating or living with mental health issues. Reflecting both the art and the science of this fascinating field, Dulcan's Textbook of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, Second Edition, provides authoritative, practical guidance and is a resource that mental health practitioners at all levels of experience should have on their desks and handheld devices.
Publication Date: 2015-08-31
Interviewing Children and Adolescents, Second Edition by Fully updated for DSM-5 and ICD-10-CM, this instructive clinical resource has given thousands of clinicians and students essential skills for evaluating infants through adolescents with any type of mental health issue. Principles for conducting age-appropriate clinical interviews with children of varying ages and their parents--including the use of toys, drawing, dolls, and other forms of play--are illustrated with annotated sample transcripts. The book provides crucial information for accurately diagnosing a wide range of mental and behavioral disorders. User-friendly features include concise explanations of diagnostic criteria, coding notes, interview pointers for specific disorders, vivid vignettes, and a sample written report. New to This Edition *Current terminology, codes, and diagnostic criteria integrated throughout the case examples and disorder-specific discussions. *Features both DSM-5 and ICD-10-CM codes. *Essential Features--prototypes that encapsulate the symptoms and other diagnostic elements of each disorder. *Reproducible tool (Questionnaire for Parents) that can be downloaded and printed for repeated use. *Additional disorders and vignettes.
Publication Date: 2016-09-02
Oppositional Defiant Disorder and Conduct Disorder in Childhood by Newly updated, this is a comprehensive guide to ODD and conduct disorder (CD) in children aged 3-14 for professionals, students, and researchers. Summarizes the most important empirical knowledge across a broad array of topics, with a focus on the latest research and meta-analyses, as well as high-quality older studies Includes revised diagnostic conceptualizations for ODD and CD from DSM-V and the upcoming ICD-11 classification systems, with particular attention to similarities, differences, and information about an angry-irritable subtype for ODD Provides updated reviews of biological and social-cognitive risk and protective factors and the evidence base for relevant treatment and prevention procedures Describes best practices for assessment, treatment, and prevention for children and their families, based on the clinical and research work of the well-respected author team
Publication Date: 2017-01-30
Psychiatric Pharmacogenomics by Psychiatric Pharmacogenomics is a book written to help clinicians to use pharmacogenomic testing to improve the pharmacotherapy that they provide for their patients. It is designed to teach clinicians how to order pharmacogenomic tests and interpret the results. Clinical examples are used to underscore the specific indications for pharmacogenomic testing and to clarify the clinical usefulness of identifying atypical genotypes that result in problematic responses to medication. The first section of the book begins with a basic review of molecular genetics. Additionally, the book also includes an extensive glossary of technical terms associated with molecular genetics and pharmacogenomics. The clinical utility of pharmacogenomic testing is demonstrated throughout the book by describing the implications of genetic variations for the care of individual patients. The second section of the book is organized into fourteen chapters that each focus on the clinical implications of testing for specific genes for which variants have been associated with either therapeutic response or side effects of psychotropic medications. Each of these chapters is structured in the same manner and involves a description of the gene and its significant variants. Each chapter also includes one or more clinical vignettes. The third section of the book discusses the clinical usefulness of pharmacogenomic testing, ethical issues associated with pharmacogenomic testing, and provides predictions for the future development of more sophisticated pharmacogenomic testing.
Call Number: Purchase Pending
Publication Date: 2010-05-28
Contact the Darnall Medical Library (DML)
For WRNNMC Patients
- TRICARE Appointment Line: 855-227-6331
- Walter Reed NMMC Main Phone: 301-295-4611
- TRICARE Health Services (Includes phone numbers)
Researching a medical condition?
Click on the button below!
For WRNNMC Healthcare Providers
Darnall Medical Library | Walter Reed NMMC | Building 1, Room 3458 | 8955 Wood Road | Bethesda, MD 20889 | 301-295-1184/85 | Open Monday-Friday, 0700-1730
After-hours access to the library is available to WRNMMC Staff via the CDO at 301-295-4611.