Skip to main content

Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation Portal: Mobile Resources

Lexicomp

Lexicomp

Click here for information on FY20
Lexicomp activation codes.

DynaMed Plus

Once on the DynaMed Plus page, click on "Get the DynaMed Plus Mobile App."

UpToDate Mobile

Would you like UpToDate on your smartphone or tablet? Click here for information on the UpToDate app.

Click here for the FAQ: How do I create an account for the UpToDate mobile app?

uCentral Apps

uCentral

Click on the uCentral icon to create an account. Next, download the uCentral app to access Harriet Lane Handbook, and Prime PubMed.

App Reviews

For Medical App reviews, you may want to try:

iMedicalApps

Of Interest: AudioDigest

AudioDigest

1. Visit http://audio-digest.org/registration/institutions from a valid hospital IP address
2. Follow the prompts to create your own username/password*
3. On subsequent visits, log-in anywhere, anytime with your own UN/PW at http://audio-digest.org/ 
4. To access on mobile, download the "ADF Membership" app from the Apple App Store or Google Play store and login with your username/password
Finally, please feel free to visit the Audio Digest Resource page for additional promotional and instructional materials.
* Note: When you do register, it won't let you enter your address-- there's an address in Texas. That's correct. AudioDigest is funded out of San Antonio.

 

Mobile apps available to library patrons

Audio-Digest 

Audio medical education platform that publishes clinical lectures.

Register first, here. Registration for Audio Digest is now accomplished via email address validation – you must use your official email address and have access to that address to complete the registration process.  

 

*Funded via DHA virtual library program. 

 

BMJ Best Practice

Clinical decision support tool. 

BrowZine

View thousands of medical journals and create a personal newsstand  of your favorites with the BrowZine app! Simply download the app, select Walter Reed National Military Medical Center as your institution, and login with your EZproxy credentials! 

*Funded via Darnall Medical Library. 

EBSCOhost Mobile App Logo

DOSS (via EBSCOhost app)

Access to the full text of more than 140 journals on such topics as cosmetic dentistry, dental anesthesiology, dental public health, endodontics, general dentistry, pediatric dentistry, periodontics, and much more. 

*Funded via DHA virtual library program. 

DynaMed 

With the DynaMed app, clinicians can use the tool everywhere they go. One-time authentication is easy. Users can follow relevant content, earn and redeem CME and MOC credit, and email topics right from within the app. Click here for instructions for signing up for a personal account. 

*Funded via DHA virtual library program. 

Lexicomp for Dentistry

Information on pharmacology, interactions, diagnostic procedures & laboratory tests, pharmacogenomics, natural products, poisoning & toxicology, dentistry, infectious diseases, and patient education in 18 languages (including Arabic). Contact the library staff for authorization codes.

*Funded via DHA virtual library program. 

Lexicomp Medical

Information on pharmacology, interactions, diagnostic procedures & laboratory tests, pharmacogenomics, natural products, poisoning & toxicology, dentistry, infectious diseases, and patient education in 18 languages (including Arabic). Contact the library staff for authorization codes.

*Funded via DHA virtual library program. 

Nursing Reference Center Plus App

Provides nurses with evidence-based information for point of care, continuing education, nursing research and more.

*Funded via Darnall Medical Library. 

PEMSoft

Pediatric point-of-care clinical information resource for hospitals, emergency departments, clinics, pediatric group practices, transport services and medical schools Download the app and contact the library for the activation codes.

*Funded via DHA virtual library program. 

Sanford Guide 

Sanford Guide All Access! Antimicrobial, HIV/AIDS, and Viral Hepatitis Therapy content, bundled into a single searchable database. 

Click here for installation instructions. 

STAT!Ref

Full text of sixty medical textbooks. Click here to access MySTAT!Ref for account creation.

*Funded via Darnall Medical Library and DHA virtual library program. 

uCentral (also known as Unbound Medline)

Provides access to Harriet Lane HandbookPrime PubMed, medical calculators, and Coronavirus Guidelines.

*Funded via Darnall Medical Library. 

UpToDate Mobile

Intended to optimize your experience, whether accessing UpToDate from a desktop computer, tablet, or mobile device. Requires personal UpToDate account created from a WR-B networked computer - click here for registration instructions.

*Funded via DHA virtual library program. 

Free mobile apps

AnticoagEvaluator App Logo

AnticoagEvaluator App

Use the AnticoagEvaluator to make informed decisions on initiation of antithrombotic therapy for patients with atrial fibrillation (AF) who do not have moderate to severe mitral stenosis or a mechanical heart valve.

ASCVD Risk Estimator App Logo

ASCVD Risk Estimator Plus

ASCVD Risk Estimator Plus uses up-to-date ACC clinical policy and user feedback to help a clinician and patient build a customized risk lowering plan by estimating and monitoring change in 10 year ASCVD risk. 

Calculate by QxMD Mobile App Logo

Calculate by QxMD

Clinical calculator and decision support tool. 

CDC BLAST INJURY App Logo

CDC BLAST INJURY

Designed to help prehospital, hospital healthcare providers, and public health professionals treat injuries, prepare for blast events, and save lives. Use this app to access critical guidance during an emergency, even if communication networks are down.

CDC TravWell App Logo

CDC TravWell

This app, designed for international travel, provides destination-specific vaccine recommendations, a travel checklist and a healthy travel packing list. You can also use this app to store travel documents and records of immunizations and to set reminders for getting vaccine boosters or taking medicine.

CDC Vaccine Schedules App Logo

CDC Vaccine Schedules

Healthcare providers who recommend or administer vaccines can immediately access all CDC recommended immunization schedules and footnotes using the CDC Vaccine Schedules app. Optimized for tablets and useful on smartphones, the app shows child, adolescent, and adult vaccines recommended by the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP). 

CDC Yellow Book 2018 App Logo

CDC Yellow Book 2018

The CDC Yellow Book 2018 app delivers the U.S. government’s most current travel health guidelines, including pre-travel vaccine recommendations, destination-specific health advice, and easy-to-reference maps, tables, and charts. Authored by a team of the world’s most esteemed travel medicine experts, this app best codifies the U.S. Government’s latest travel guidelines to staying healthy anywhere in the world.

Deployed Medicine App Logo

Deployed Medicine

Deployed Medicine is an innovative learning service developed to supplement the medical education and training of U.S. military personnel. The information contained in this app is designed to serve as a supplementary resource to reinforce prior training, and to help you deliver high quality trauma care in deployed settings.

Drug Shortages app logo

Drug Shortages

View drug shortages, report shortages, and receive notifications when there is new or updated information about a drug product shortage or a drug within selected therapeutic categories.

Electronic Preventive Services Selector Mobile App Logo

Electronic Preventive Services Selector

The ePSS is an application designed to help primary care clinicians identify clinical preventive services that are appropriate for their patients. Use the tool to search and browse U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) recommendations on the web or on your PDA or mobile device.

Epocrates Mobile App Logo

Epocrates

Review drug prescribing and safety information for thousands of brand, generic and OTC drugs. 

Exposure Ed Mobile App Logo

Exposure Ed

Tool created for providers to have an informed discussion with Veterans about their individual exposure-related concerns and potential impacts on their health.

Field Facts mobile app logo

Field Facts - Apple

Access descriptions of safety measures and protective clothing to protect yourself from exposure. Learn how to recognize signs and symptoms of disease associated with eight potential bioterrorism agents. 

First Aid app logo from the American Red Cross

First Aid (American Red Cross)

Instant access to information on handling the most common first aid emergencies. 

FluView mobile app logo

FluView - Apple

This is the official FluView Influenza-Like Illness Activity mobile application created by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Explore Influenza-Like Illness (ILI) Activity Levels across the US; view ILI trends over several weeks; and get on-demand access to state health department websites for local surveillance information.

Medscape Mobile App Logo

Medscape

Drugs, Diseases and Clinical Tools; the latest medical news and perspectives, Medscape Consult, and CME/CE credits & ABIM MOC points on-the-go.

MilMed Mobile App Logo

MilMed App

Customizable medical apps for the Military. See WRNMMC staff for more information. 

MSF Medical Guidelines App Logo

MSF Medical Guidelines

Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF) produces medical guides to help practitioners in the field. The contents of these guides are based on scientific data and MSF’s field experience. The scientific data used are that of the World Health Organization (WHO) or renowned international medical institutions as well as medical and scientific journals.

NICE Guidelines Mobile App Logo

NICE Guidelines

The latest prescribing information from the most widely-used medicines information resources within the NHS. Now includes BNFC information.

Outbreaks Near Me App Logo

Outbreaks Near Me

Real-time disease outbreak information at your fingertips. Search and browse outbreak reports on the interactive map, and set up the app to alert you with a notice automatically whenever an outbreak is occurring in your area. 

mobilePDR app logo

Physician's Desk Reference: mobilePDR

Healthcare professionals have FREE access to current drug prescribing information. 

Provider Resilience Mobile App Logo

Provider Resilience - Apple

Provider Resilience - Android

Provider Resilience gives frontline providers tools to keep themselves productive and emotionally healthy.

PTSD Coach app logo

PTSD Coach

The PTSD Coach app can help you learn about and manage symptoms that often occur after trauma.

Red Cross Emergency app logo

Red Cross Emergency

All-inclusive app lets you monitor more than 35 different severe weather and emergency alerts, to help keep you and your loved ones safe.

SAMHSA App Logo

SAMHSA

For behavioral health - immediate access for any type of traumatic event at every phase of response, including pre-deployment preparation, on-the-ground assistance and post-deployment resources.

Shots Mobile App Logo

Shots by AAFP/STFM

Get easy-to-use, up-to-date vaccine information at the point of care with Shots Immunizations by the American Academy of Family Physicians and Society of Teachers of Family Medicine.

Show Me for Emergencies app logo

Show Me for Emergencies

A suite of tools designed to enhance communication between individuals with communication challenges and public health and emergency management personnel and volunteers during times of emergencies. 

Skyscape Medical Library App Logo

Skyscape Medical Library App

Includes Skyscape RX, Skyscape Clinical Concult, and Skyscape Calculator. 

Stop the Bleed App Logo

Stop the Bleed - Apple

Stop the Bleed - Android

Life-threatening bleeding can be fatal in minutes. Use this app to learn techniques recommended by the Stop the Bleed campaign to apply pressure and possibly save lives in an emergency.

TeamSTEPPS app logo

TeamSTEPPS Pocket Guide

Structured communication tools and checklists from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's signature curriculum to improve patient safety by training health care teams to communicate and practice effective teamwork.

WHO Zika App Logo

WHO Zika App

The official World Health Organization (WHO) Zika App. Get the latest information from WHO on the Zika virus disease by downloading this app. WHO and UniversalDoctor are working together in partnership to develop and maintain the WHO Zika App.

Contact the Darnall Medical Library (DML)

Ask a Librarian   Ask the Library:
Questions & Article Requests
Email Email the Librarians:
For HIPAA sensitive questions
Phone Call the Library:
295-1184/1185
Email Tell Us:
Suggestions? Concerns?
USU Button  USUHS LRC
FBCH Button  FBCH Library

Are you a WRNMMC Patient?

Follow this link for Walter Reed NMMC to make an appointment, call a clinic, or plan your visit.

Click on the button below to access the Patient Health Education Portal!

Darnall Medical Library | Walter Reed NMMC | Building 1, Room 3458 | 8955 Wood Road | Bethesda, MD 20889 | 301-295-1184/85 | Open Monday-Friday, 0700-1730

After-hours access to the library is available to WRNMMC Staff via the CDO at 301-295-4611.