Skip to main content

Radiology Portal: Selected Databases

All Databases

For an A-Z list of all of the library's databases, please go to the library's Databases page.

Contact the Darnall Medical Library (DML)

Ask a Librarian   Ask the Library:
Questions & Article Requests
Email Email the Librarians:
For HIPAA sensitive questions
Phone Call the Library:
301-295-1184/1185
Email Tell Us:
Suggestions? Concerns?
USU Button  USUHS LRC
FBCH Button  FBCH Library

Are you a WRNMMC Patient?

Follow this link for Walter Reed NMMC to make an appointment, call a clinic, or plan your visit.

Click on the button below to access the Patient Health Education Portal!

Selected Databases for Radiology

Radiology Literature Search Engines

An exponential publication of research studies resulted in accumulation of academic information challenging the discovery of research information from literature search databases, journals, and search engines. Traditional literature search engines are based on keywords and controlled vocabulary rather than on concepts and words meaning. New generation literature search engines use Artificial Intelligence (AI), Machine Learning (ML), machine vision, semantic and textual analysis. These search engines use AI and semantic technologies to discover meaningful information for efficient access to knowledge in the heterogeneous informational environments. Semantic search engines use full-text indexing, smart filters, citation generation, exploration of the relevant concepts, creating search alerts, harvest articles in databases and the web, and ranking algorithms to understand the knowledge and information from abundant pools of radiological literature. The GoldMiner, Radiopedia, Yottalook, SearchingRadiology.com, Semantic Scholar, and Microsoft Academic are next generation search engines used for literature search in radiology, science, and medicine.

  • GoldMiner - radiology search image engine that provides a rapid access to radiology images from peer-reviewed journals from PubMed.
  • Radiopedia - educational collaborative wiki-based resources of articles, radiology images, and clinical cases.
  • Yottalook - radiology image search engine developed for radiologists for radiology-specific searches.
  • SearchingRadiology.com - search engine for peer-reviewed information at the point of care.
  • Semantic Scholar - AI-based literature search engine of peer-reviewed research in medicine, computer science, and other fields.
  • Microsoft Academic - literature search engine for scientific literature in various fields.

Searching Books, Patents, and Articles using Google Search Engine

Online access to library subscriptions is usually restricted to library affiliates. When searching Google search engine an option Locate@Darnall notifies that this resource is offered to only affiliates of the Darnall Medical Library, Walter Reed National Military Medical Center.

Google Scholar Search

Scientific Communication Initiative

Dr. Tmanova, research librarian & informationist,  and Scientific Communication Initiative help Department of Radiology researchers navigate the research information ecosystem  to accelerate  research and scientific communication by offering these services:

If you have questions about the Research Initiative & Scientific Communication service and need guidance with conducting research, scientific communication, data management, research quality analysis, and education, contact informationist, Dr. Tmanova

Darnall Medical Library | Walter Reed NMMC | Building 1, Room 3458 | 8955 Wood Road | Bethesda, MD 20889 | 301-295-1184/85 | Open Monday-Friday, 0700-1730

After-hours access to the library is available to WRNMMC Staff via the CDO at 301-295-4611.