WRNMMC Specific Resources
WRNMMC COVID-19 Updates includes current SOPs, Guidance, Guidelines, and upcoming resiliency offerings. You MUST be on a WRNMMC networked computer to access the intranet.
Click here for WRNMMC's Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) INTRANET page: You MUST be on a WRNMMC networked computer to access the intranet.
Department of Defense (DoD) Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Vaccination Program Implementation
COVID-19 Vaccine Communications Toolkit
Military COVID-19 Resources
A DoDTechipedia page linking to technical reports on coronaviruses, infectious diseases, ventilators, and other related topics
Scholarly Literature
The outbreak of the novel coronavirus in China (COVID-19) represents a significant and urgent threat to global health. Therefore, many publishers, like the ones below, are participating in the free exchange of current health information in order to ensure that research findings and data relevant to this outbreak are shared rapidly and openly to inform the public health response and help save lives. You can learn more at the Wellcome Trust.
Cambridge University Press' Coronavirus Free Access Collection
Cochrane Library Special Collections
LitCOVID (Curated literature hub)
New England Journal Of Medicine (NEJM) - 2019 Novel Coronavirus (2019-nCoV)
Oxford University Press' COVID-19, coronavirus, and other related topics
Preprints: COVID-19 SARS-CoV-2 preprints from medRxiv and bioRxiv
Government and Organizational Resources
ASTM International Standards & COVID-19
Over 20 Open Access standards that relate to medical masks, gowns, gloves, hand sanitizers, and other PPE and medical equipment.
Evidence Aid's Coronavirus (COVID-19) Evidence Collection
Over 50 summaries of systematic reviews relevant to COVID-19.
Maryland Department of Health (MDH)
Montgomery County Government, Department of Health and Human Services, COVID-19 Information
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases: Coronaviruses
National Institutes of Health (NIH) COVID-19 Treatment Guidelines
DisasterLit (Grey literature)
GenBank (Annotated genome sequence)
LitCOVID (Curated literature hub)
Medline Plus (Consumer level information)
Medline Plus (Spanish)
NCBI Virus (Search, retrieve, and analyze 2019-nCoV Genbank data)
Nextstrain (Genomic epidemiology of nCoV)
Pan American Health Organization, COVID-19 Guidance and the Latest Research in the Americas
ProMED-mail (Publicly-available system conducting global reporting of outbreaks)
University of Minnesota's Center of Infectious Disease Research and Policy
University of Oxford and the Center for Evidence-Based Medicine's COVID-19 Evidence Service
Topic Collections for the following: Alternate Care Sites, Continuity of Operations, Crisis Standards of Care, Ethics, Healthcare-Related Disaster Legal/Regulatory/Federal Policy, Hospital Surge Capacity and Immediate Bed Availability, Influenza Epidemic/Pandemic, Mental/Behavioral Health, Responder Safety and Health, and Virtual Medical Care
YouTube was recently blocked on WRNMMC computers, so you may need to use personal phones/iPads to view educational videos.
Educational Resources
The bundle includes five lectures designed to help participants manage patients in the ED who present with symptoms related to COVID-19. It focuses on telemedicine; different types of ventilators, settings, and management of patients on ventilators; care of critical patients who require ICU care when the ICU is full; respiratory therapy and the pathophysiology and pharmacological management of acute decompensated heart failure.
Bioethical and Legal Considerations during the COVID-19 Pandemic for Health Care Providers Live-Webinar (Defense Health Agency) - 09 April 2020. Must use login.
COVID-19 Vaccine Training Module: The Immunization Healthcare Division in collaboration with the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) presents the COVID-19 Vaccine Training: General Overview of Immunization Best Practices for Health Care Providers Webinar. The webinar is also available for 2.0 Continuing Education (CE)/Continuing Medical Education (CME) credits through the Defense Health Agency, J7, Continuing Education Program Office. To earn CE/CMEs, participants must complete the training on the CDC site, then register at the following link: https://www.dhaj7-cepo.com/content/covid-19-vaccine-training and complete both the posttest/evaluation questions.
Courses
World Health Organization, approximately 3 hours to complete
Science Matters: Let's Talk About COVID-19
Guidance and Tools for Providers (for training, please select the Education tab)
These Treatment Guidelines have been developed to inform clinicians how to care for patients with COVID-19. These Guidelines are updated frequently as published data and other authoritative information becomes available. The recommendations in these Guidelines are based on scientific evidence and expert opinion.
Protocols and practices from institutions across the country, as well as professional society guidelines.
De-stress & Mindfulness
Communication with Patients
Supporting Communication with Patients who have COVID-19 from Patient Provider Communication
COVID-19 Health Literacy Project
Patient fact sheets in 30+ languages; "We create and translate accessible COVID-19 information into different languages to help all patients know when, and how, to seek care. Our materials are created in collaboration with Harvard Health Publishing."
Interactive:
Vaccine Tracker by Johns Hopkins Coronavirus Resource Center
Click here for the Federal Government's Telework Program
IN NEED OF A QUICK SMILE?
Just for fun - check our some of our telework "co-workers" (AKA pets!) and add your own!
Access to the Darnall Medical Library and its resources is available to WRNMMC staff teleworking. For access information, please see links below:
Literature Searching
Ask a librarian for assistance with a literature search
A lit search is searching a database for targeted results on your topic
Results will typically be delivered as a list or link to citations
Other related pieces to lit searching:
Request document delivery if you're looking for full-text PDFs for citations you've found
Set up a an NCBI account
My NCBI allows you to save searches, save collections of citations, manage filters, and save site preferences for major NCBI databases in PubMed.
We recommend setting up a free account (you don't have to use your @health.mil address) so you can have personalized features, such as the links to full text results, highlighting of your search results, and the abstracts displayed when you search rather than just the summaries of articles.
Once you've created an account, go to the Filters box, click on "Manage Filters" and then select "Link Out". In the box, type in "Darnall" and check off both the boxes for filter and link icon. Next, in the search box, type in "Free Full Text," and check off the box for "filter."
Now you can go back to the top of the screen and click on "MyNCBI" again to customize your results display. Choose "NCBI Site Preferences" then, on the next page, change your highlighting preferences to a color of your choice (it is probably default to a non-color), and your "result display setting" to "abstract" and whichever number you choose instead of summary. You're all set and ready to search!
More information on NCBI accounts (there's a lot more to them, including saved searches)
Tips and Tricks for Teleworking during COVID-19
The Darnall Medical Library Team are here to assist WRNMMC!
“We are committed to making the DoD a workplace of choice that is characterized by diversity, equality, and inclusion. We remain steadfast in our commitment to promote an environment free from barriers that may prevent personnel from realizing their potential and rising to the highest levels of responsibility within the Department. To that end, the Department continues to strengthen policies and procedures that promulgate the Diversity and Inclusion and Equal Opportunity missions. We continue to enhance diversity and ensure equality across our entire workforce. We believe diversity is the key to innovation, inclusion is imperative for cohesive teamwork, and equality is critical to Total Force readiness.” https://diversity.defense.gov/DoD-Diversity-and-Inclusion-Initiatives/
“No matter how we experience racism and racial injustice,
we must be aware of it and work diligently to end it.”
COL Andrew Barr, 19 June 2020
"An online learning collaborative and web-based course designed for the public health workforce. The site offers a starting place for those who want to address systemic differences in health and wellness that are actionable, unfair, and unjust. Based on a social justice framework, the course is an introduction to ground public health practitioners in concepts and strategies for taking action in everyday practice.
Funded by the National Center for Minority Health and Health Disparities at the National Institutes of Health in 2011, the course is open free of charge to any professional interested in addressing the root causes of health inequity. The course material is written primarily for local public health department staff at all levels. The interactive site includes five units and features a rich source of case studies, readings, presentations, video, audio, and group-directed discussions."
Harvard's Implicit Association Test (IAT)
"The Implicit Association Test (IAT) measures attitudes and beliefs that people may be unwilling or unable to report. The IAT may be especially interesting if it shows that you have an implicit attitude that you did not know about. For example, you may believe that women and men should be equally associated with science, but your automatic associations could show that you (like many others) associate men with science more than you associate women with science."
Check out any of these books at the Darnall Medical Library. More on the way - stay tuned for updates.
The Person You Mean to Be by
"Favorite Books of 2018" The Greater Good Magazine Foreword by Laszlo Bock, the bestselling author of Work Rules! and former Senior Vice President of People Operations at Google An inspiring guide from Dolly Chugh, an award-winning social psychologist at the New York University Stern School of Business, on how to confront difficult issues including sexism, racism, inequality, and injustice so that you can make the world (and yourself) better. Many of us believe in equality, diversity, and inclusion. But how do we stand up for those values in our turbulent world? The Person You Mean to Be is the smart, "semi-bold" person's guide to fighting for what you believe in. Dolly reveals the surprising causes of inequality, grounded in the "psychology of good people". Using her research findings in unconscious bias as well as work across psychology, sociology, economics, political science, and other disciplines, she offers practical tools to respectfully and effectively talk politics with family, to be a better colleague to people who don't look like you, and to avoid being a well-intentioned barrier to equality. Being the person we mean to be starts with a look at ourselves. She argues that the only way to be on the right side of history is to be a good-ish-- rather than good--person. Good-ish people are always growing. Second, she helps you find your "ordinary privilege"--the part of your everyday identity you take for granted, such as race for a white person, sexual orientation for a straight person, gender for a man, or education for a college graduate. This part of your identity may bring blind spots, but it is your best tool for influencing change. Third, Dolly introduces the psychological reasons that make it hard for us to see the bias in and around us. She leads you from willful ignorance to willful awareness. Finally, she guides you on how, when, and whom, to engage (and not engage) in your workplaces, homes, and communities. Her science-based approach is a method any of us can put to use in all parts of our life. Whether you are a long-time activist or new to the fight, you can start from where you are. Through the compelling stories Dolly shares and the surprising science she reports, Dolly guides each of us closer to being the person we mean to be.
Living and Dying in Brick City by
"A riveting personal exploration of the healthcare crisis facing inner-city communities, written by an emergency room physician who grew up in the very neighborhood he is now servingampson Davis is best known as one of three friends from inner-city Newark who made a pact in high school to become doctors. Their book The Pactand their work through the Three Doctors Foundation have inspired countless young men and women to strive for goals they otherwise would not have dreamed they could attain. In this book, Dr. Davis looks at the healthcare crisis in the inner city from a rare perspective- as a doctor who works on the front line of emergency medical care in the community where he grew up, and as a member of that community who has faced the same challenges as the people he treats every day. He also offers invaluable practical advice for those living in such communities, where conditions like asthma, heart disease, stroke, obesity, and AIDS are disproportionately endemic. r. Davis's sister, a drug addict, died of AIDS; his brother is now paralyzed and confined to a wheelchair as a result of a bar fight; and he himself did time in juvenile detention a wake-up call
Medical Apartheid by
From the era of slavery to the present day, the first full history of black America's shocking mistreatment as unwilling and unwitting experimental subjects at the hands of the medical establishment. Medical Apartheid is the first and only comprehensive history of medical experimentation on African Americans. Starting with the earliest encounters between black Americans and Western medical researchers and the racist pseudoscience that resulted, it details the ways both slaves and freedmen were used in hospitals for experiments conducted without their knowledge--a tradition that continues today within some black populations. It reveals how blacks have historically been prey to grave-robbing as well as unauthorized autopsies and dissections. Moving into the twentieth century, it shows how the pseudoscience of eugenics and social Darwinism was used to justify experimental exploitation and shoddy medical treatment of blacks, and the view that they were biologically inferior, oversexed, and unfit for adult responsibilities. Shocking new details about the government's notorious Tuskegee experiment are revealed, as are similar, less-well-known medical atrocities conducted by the government, the armed forces, prisons, and private institutions. The product of years of prodigious research into medical journals and experimental reports long undisturbed, Medical Apartheid reveals the hidden underbelly of scientific research and makes possible, for the first time, an understanding of the roots of the African American health deficit. At last, it provides the fullest possible context for comprehending the behavioral fallout that has caused black Americans to view researchers--and indeed the whole medical establishment--with such deep distrust. No one concerned with issues of public health and racial justice can afford not to read Medical Apartheid, a masterful book that will stir up both controversy and long-needed debate.
Hidden Figures by
The #1 New York Times bestseller -WINNER OF ANISFIELD-WOLF AWARD FOR NONFICTION -WINNER BLACK CAUCUS OF AMERICAN LIBRARY ASSOCIATION BEST NONFICTION BOOK -WINNER NAACP IMAGE AWARD BEST NONFICTION BOOK -WINNER NATIONAL ACADEMIES OF SCIENCES, ENGINEERING AND MEDICINE COMMUNICATION AWARD The phenomenal true story of the black female mathematicians at NASA at the leading edge of the feminist and civil rights movement, whose calculations helped fuel some of America's greatest achievements in space--a powerful, revelatory contribution that is as essential to our understanding of race, discrimination, and achievement in modern America as Between the World and Me and The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks. The basis for the smash Academy Award-nominated film starring Taraji P. Henson, Octavia Spencer, Janelle Monae, Kirsten Dunst, and Kevin Costner. Before John Glenn orbited the earth, or Neil Armstrong walked on the moon, a group of dedicated female mathematicians known as "human computers" used pencils, slide rules and adding machines to calculate the numbers that would launch rockets, and astronauts, into space. Among these problem-solvers were a group of exceptionally talented African American women, some of the brightest minds of their generation. Originally relegated to teaching math in the South's segregated public schools, they were called into service during the labor shortages of World War II, when America's aeronautics industry was in dire need of anyone who had the right stuff. Suddenly, these overlooked math whizzes had a shot at jobs worthy of their skills, and they answered Uncle Sam's call, moving to Hampton, Virginia and the fascinating, high-energy world of the Langley Memorial Aeronautical Laboratory. Even as Virginia's Jim Crow laws required them to be segregated from their white counterparts, the women of Langley's all-black "West Computing" group helped America achieve one of the things it desired most: a decisive victory over the Soviet Union in the Cold War, and complete domination of the heavens. Starting in World War II and moving through to the Cold War, the Civil Rights Movement and the Space Race, Hidden Figures follows the interwoven accounts of Dorothy Vaughan, Mary Jackson, Katherine Johnson and Christine Darden, four African American women who participated in some of NASA's greatest successes. It chronicles their careers over nearly three decades they faced challenges, forged alliances and used their intellect to change their own lives, and their country's future.
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by
Now an HBO® Film starring Oprah Winfrey and Rose Byrne. Her name was Henrietta Lacks, but scientists know her as HeLa. She was a poor Southern tobacco farmer who worked the same land as her slave ancestors, yet her cells--taken without her knowledge--became one of the most important tools in medicine. The first "immortal" human cells grown in culture, they are still alive today, though she has been dead for more than sixty years. If you could pile all HeLa cells ever grown onto a scale, they'd weigh more than 50 million metric tons--as much as a hundred Empire State Buildings. HeLa cells were vital for developing the polio vaccine; uncovered secrets of cancer, viruses, and the atom bomb's effects; helped lead to important advances like in vitro fertilization, cloning, and gene mapping; and have been bought and sold by the billions. Yet Henrietta Lacks remains virtually unknown, buried in an unmarked grave. Now Rebecca Skloot takes us on an extraordinary journey, from the "colored" ward of Johns Hopkins Hospital in the 1950s to stark white laboratories with freezers full of HeLa cells; from Henrietta's small, dying hometown of Clover, Virginia--a land of wooden slave quarters, faith healings, and voodoo--to East Baltimore today, where her children and grandchildren live and struggle with the legacy of her cells. Henrietta's family did not learn of her "immortality" until more than twenty years after her death, when scientists investigating HeLa began using her husband and children in research without informed consent. And though the cells had launched a multimillion-dollar industry that sells human biological materials, her family never saw any of the profits. As Rebecca Skloot so brilliantly shows, the story of the Lacks family--past and present--is inextricably connected to the dark history of experimentation on African Americans, the birth of bioethics, and the legal battles over whether we control the stuff we are made of. Over the decade it took to uncover this story, Rebecca became enmeshed in the lives of the Lacks family--especially Henrietta's daughter Deborah, who was devastated to learn about her mother's cells. She was consumed with questions: Had scientists cloned her mother? Did it hurt her when researchers infected her cells with viruses and shot them into space? What happened to her sister, Elsie, who died in a mental institution at the age of fifteen? And if her mother was so important to medicine, why couldn't her children afford health insurance? Intimate in feeling, astonishing in scope, and impossible to put down, The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks captures the beauty and drama of scientific discovery, as well as its human consequences.
Sissy: A Coming-of-Gender Story by 
Introducing Feminism by
The term 'feminism' came into English usage around the 1890s, but women's conscious struggle to resist discrimination and sexist oppression goes much further back. This completely new and updated edition of "Introducing Feminism" surveys the major developments that have affected women's lives from the 17th century to the present day. "Introducing Feminism" is an invaluable reference book for anyone seeking the story of how feminism reconfigured the world for women and men alike.
Facilitators: Sarah Clarke and Maia Magder
The Darnall Medical Library and WRNMMC’s DEI Council are collaborating in an effort to engage staff in conversations related to diversity, equity, inclusion, and access. This dovetails perfectly with the Darnall Library's MedHum Collection: curated books that explore the experiences of the scientific and medical community with an emphasis on storytelling.
This spring, we will begin hosting a series of discussions surrounding Dr. Damon Tweedy's Black Man in a White Coat. As participants read the book, it is our hope that they will keep an open mind, lean into their discomfort, learn from colleagues, and contribute to discussions in ways that are impactful. Ultimately, we hope that this experience provides participants with a meaningful opportunity to bring out the best in themselves and form connections with colleagues of the WRNMMC community.
LOCATION: NICoE's Central Park- Building 51, Second Floor
DATES and TIMES: NOTE: The same session will run twice in one day allowing for more participation. To register, click on the time you'd like to attend.
Sign up, spread the word to interested colleagues, and let's get READING!
Black Man in a White Coat by More content coming soon.
Add healthdisparities[sb] with an AND to a PubMed search to search these topics
Links, photos, or content shared from another site do not indicate endorsement by WRNMMC or by any other federal agency.
LitCovid is a curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. It is the most comprehensive resource on the subject, providing a central access to over a thousand relevant articles in PubMed. The articles are updated daily and are further categorized by different research topics and geographic locations for improved access.
The Immunization Healthcare Division in collaboration with the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) presents the COVID-19 Vaccine Training: General Overview of Immunization Best Practices for Health Care Providers Webinar. This COVID-19 Vaccine Training Webinar can be found at the following link: https://www2.cdc.gov/vaccines/ed/covid19/. The webinar is also available for 2.0 Continuing Education (CE)/Continuing Medical Education (CME) credits through the Defense Health Agency, J7, Continuing Education Program Office. To earn CE/CMEs, participants must complete the training on the CDC site, then register at the following link: https://www.dhaj7-cepo.com/content/covid-19-vaccine-training and complete both the posttest/evaluation questions.
Researching a Medical Condition?
Click the button below!
Research Information
Ask the Library
Clinical Support
CME / CE Links
Copyright Overview
Interlibrary Loan
Library Instruction
Suggest a Purchase
Remote Access (EZProxy)
24 / 7 Access
Electronic Journals: Graphical Interface
Electronic Journals A-Z
Books: Print and Electronic
Databases
Database Tutorials
Mobile Apps / Resources
Tools
Academic Research Information Guide
Current Events: COVID-19
Current Events: Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion
Internal Medicine Portal
Military Sites
Pediatrics Portal
Professional Reading (In Progress)
All Other Portals
Disclaimer: The appearance of hyperlinks does not constitute endorsement by the Department of Defense, Defense Health Agency of non-U.S. Government sites or the information, products, or services contained therein. Although the Darnall Medical Library, WRNMMC may or may not use these sites as additional distribution channels for Department of Defense information, it does not exercise editorial control over all of the information that you may find at these locations. Such hyperlinks are provided consistent with the stated purpose of this website.
Darnall Medical Library | Walter Reed NMMC | Building 1, Room 3458 | 8955 Wood Road | Bethesda, MD 20889 | 301-295-1184/85 | Open Monday-Friday, 0700-1630
After-hours access to the library is available to WRNMMC Staff via the CDO at 301-295-4611.