WRNMMC Specific Resources
WRNMMC COVID-19 Updates includes current SOPs, Guidance, Guidelines, and upcoming resiliency offerings. You MUST be on a WRNMMC networked computer to access the intranet.
Click here for WRNMMC's Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) INTRANET page: You MUST be on a WRNMMC networked computer to access the intranet.
Department of Defense (DoD) Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Vaccination Program Implementation
COVID-19 Vaccine Communications Toolkit
Military COVID-19 Resources
A DoDTechipedia page linking to technical reports on coronaviruses, infectious diseases, ventilators, and other related topics
The outbreak of the novel coronavirus in China (COVID-19) represents a significant and urgent threat to global health. Therefore, many publishers, like the ones below, are participating in the free exchange of current health information in order to ensure that research findings and data relevant to this outbreak are shared rapidly and openly to inform the public health response and help save lives. You can learn more at the Wellcome Trust.
Cambridge University Press' Coronavirus Free Access Collection
Cochrane Library Special Collections
LitCOVID (Curated literature hub)
New England Journal Of Medicine (NEJM) - 2019 Novel Coronavirus (2019-nCoV)
Oxford University Press' COVID-19, coronavirus, and other related topics
Preprints: COVID-19 SARS-CoV-2 preprints from medRxiv and bioRxiv
Government and Organizational Resources
ASTM International Standards & COVID-19
Over 20 Open Access standards that relate to medical masks, gowns, gloves, hand sanitizers, and other PPE and medical equipment.
Evidence Aid's Coronavirus (COVID-19) Evidence Collection
Over 50 summaries of systematic reviews relevant to COVID-19.
Maryland Department of Health (MDH)
Montgomery County Government, Department of Health and Human Services, COVID-19 Information
National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO), Directory of Local Health Departments
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases: Coronaviruses
National Institutes of Health (NIH) COVID-19 Treatment Guidelines
DisasterLit (Grey literature)
GenBank (Annotated genome sequence)
LitCOVID (Curated literature hub)
Medline Plus (Consumer level information)
Medline Plus (Spanish)
NCBI Virus (Search, retrieve, and analyze 2019-nCoV Genbank data)
Nextstrain (Genomic epidemiology of nCoV)
Pan American Health Organization, COVID-19 Guidance and the Latest Research in the Americas
ProMED-mail (Publicly-available system conducting global reporting of outbreaks)
University of Minnesota's Center of Infectious Disease Research and Policy
University of Oxford and the Center for Evidence-Based Medicine's COVID-19 Evidence Service
US Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Office of the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response (ASPR)
COVID-19 Workforce Virtual Toolkit: Healthcare Decision-Making Responding to COVID-19 Workforce Concerns
Technical Resources, Assistance Center and Information Exchange (TRACIE) Coronavirus Topic Collections
Topic Collections for the following: Alternate Care Sites, Continuity of Operations, Crisis Standards of Care, Ethics, Healthcare-Related Disaster Legal/Regulatory/Federal Policy, Hospital Surge Capacity and Immediate Bed Availability, Influenza Epidemic/Pandemic, Mental/Behavioral Health, Responder Safety and Health, and Virtual Medical Care
YouTube was recently blocked on WRNMMC computers, so you may need to use personal phones/iPads to view educational videos.
The bundle includes five lectures designed to help participants manage patients in the ED who present with symptoms related to COVID-19. It focuses on telemedicine; different types of ventilators, settings, and management of patients on ventilators; care of critical patients who require ICU care when the ICU is full; respiratory therapy and the pathophysiology and pharmacological management of acute decompensated heart failure.
Bioethical and Legal Considerations during the COVID-19 Pandemic for Health Care Providers Live-Webinar (Defense Health Agency) - 09 April 2020. Must use login.
COVID-19 Vaccine Training Module: The Immunization Healthcare Division in collaboration with the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) presents the COVID-19 Vaccine Training: General Overview of Immunization Best Practices for Health Care Providers Webinar. The webinar is also available for 2.0 Continuing Education (CE)/Continuing Medical Education (CME) credits through the Defense Health Agency, J7, Continuing Education Program Office. To earn CE/CMEs, participants must complete the training on the CDC site, then register at the following link: https://www.dhaj7-cepo.com/content/covid-19-vaccine-training and complete both the posttest/evaluation questions.
Emerging respiratory viruses, including COVID-19: methods for detection, prevention, response and control
World Health Organization, approximately 3 hours to complete
Science Matters: Let's Talk About COVID-19
Guidance and Tools for Providers (for training, please select the Education tab)
These Treatment Guidelines have been developed to inform clinicians how to care for patients with COVID-19. These Guidelines are updated frequently as published data and other authoritative information becomes available. The recommendations in these Guidelines are based on scientific evidence and expert opinion.
Protocols and practices from institutions across the country, as well as professional society guidelines.
De-stress & Mindfulness
Communication with Patients
Supporting Communication with Patients who have COVID-19 from Patient Provider Communication
COVID-19 Health Literacy Project
Patient fact sheets in 30+ languages; "We create and translate accessible COVID-19 information into different languages to help all patients know when, and how, to seek care. Our materials are created in collaboration with Harvard Health Publishing."
Vaccine Tracker by Johns Hopkins Coronavirus Resource Center
Click here for the Federal Government's Telework Program
IN NEED OF A QUICK SMILE?
Just for fun - check our some of our telework "co-workers" (AKA pets!) and add your own!
Access to the Darnall Medical Library and its resources is available to WRNMMC staff teleworking. For access information, please see links below:
Ask a librarian for assistance with a literature search
A lit search is searching a database for targeted results on your topic
Results will typically be delivered as a list or link to citations
Other related pieces to lit searching:
Request document delivery if you're looking for full-text PDFs for citations you've found
Set up a an NCBI account
My NCBI allows you to save searches, save collections of citations, manage filters, and save site preferences for major NCBI databases in PubMed.
We recommend setting up a free account (you don't have to use your @health.mil address) so you can have personalized features, such as the links to full text results, highlighting of your search results, and the abstracts displayed when you search rather than just the summaries of articles.
Once you've created an account, go to the Filters box, click on "Manage Filters" and then select "Link Out". In the box, type in "Darnall" and check off both the boxes for filter and link icon. Next, in the search box, type in "Free Full Text," and check off the box for "filter."
Now you can go back to the top of the screen and click on "MyNCBI" again to customize your results display. Choose "NCBI Site Preferences" then, on the next page, change your highlighting preferences to a color of your choice (it is probably default to a non-color), and your "result display setting" to "abstract" and whichever number you choose instead of summary. You're all set and ready to search!
More information on NCBI accounts (there's a lot more to them, including saved searches)
Tips and Tricks for Teleworking during COVID-19
Health Protection Condition (HPCON) for Naval District Washington
Montgomery County Government, Department of Health and Human Services, COVID-19 Information
The Darnall Medical Library Team are here to assist WRNMMC!
“We are committed to making the DoD a workplace of choice that is characterized by diversity, equality, and inclusion. We remain steadfast in our commitment to promote an environment free from barriers that may prevent personnel from realizing their potential and rising to the highest levels of responsibility within the Department. To that end, the Department continues to strengthen policies and procedures that promulgate the Diversity and Inclusion and Equal Opportunity missions. We continue to enhance diversity and ensure equality across our entire workforce. We believe diversity is the key to innovation, inclusion is imperative for cohesive teamwork, and equality is critical to Total Force readiness.” https://diversity.defense.gov/DoD-Diversity-and-Inclusion-Initiatives/
“No matter how we experience racism and racial injustice,
we must be aware of it and work diligently to end it.”
COL Andrew Barr, 19 June 2020
"An online learning collaborative and web-based course designed for the public health workforce. The site offers a starting place for those who want to address systemic differences in health and wellness that are actionable, unfair, and unjust. Based on a social justice framework, the course is an introduction to ground public health practitioners in concepts and strategies for taking action in everyday practice.
Funded by the National Center for Minority Health and Health Disparities at the National Institutes of Health in 2011, the course is open free of charge to any professional interested in addressing the root causes of health inequity. The course material is written primarily for local public health department staff at all levels. The interactive site includes five units and features a rich source of case studies, readings, presentations, video, audio, and group-directed discussions."
Harvard's Implicit Association Test (IAT)
"The Implicit Association Test (IAT) measures attitudes and beliefs that people may be unwilling or unable to report. The IAT may be especially interesting if it shows that you have an implicit attitude that you did not know about. For example, you may believe that women and men should be equally associated with science, but your automatic associations could show that you (like many others) associate men with science more than you associate women with science."
Check out any of these books at the Darnall Medical Library. More on the way - stay tuned for updates.
Facilitators: Sarah Clarke and Maia Magder
The Darnall Medical Library and WRNMMC’s DEI Council are collaborating in an effort to engage staff in conversations related to diversity, equity, inclusion, and access. This dovetails perfectly with the Darnall Library's MedHum Collection: curated books that explore the experiences of the scientific and medical community with an emphasis on storytelling.
This spring, we will begin hosting a series of discussions surrounding Dr. Damon Tweedy's Black Man in a White Coat. As participants read the book, it is our hope that they will keep an open mind, lean into their discomfort, learn from colleagues, and contribute to discussions in ways that are impactful. Ultimately, we hope that this experience provides participants with a meaningful opportunity to bring out the best in themselves and form connections with colleagues of the WRNMMC community.
LOCATION: NICoE's Central Park- Building 51, Second Floor
DATES and TIMES: NOTE: The same session will run twice in one day allowing for more participation. To register, click on the time you'd like to attend.
Sign up, spread the word to interested colleagues, and let's get READING!
More content coming soon.
Add healthdisparities[sb] with an AND to a PubMed search to search these topics
Links, photos, or content shared from another site do not indicate endorsement by WRNMMC or by any other federal agency.
LitCovid is a curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. It is the most comprehensive resource on the subject, providing a central access to over a thousand relevant articles in PubMed. The articles are updated daily and are further categorized by different research topics and geographic locations for improved access.
The Immunization Healthcare Division in collaboration with the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) presents the COVID-19 Vaccine Training: General Overview of Immunization Best Practices for Health Care Providers Webinar. This COVID-19 Vaccine Training Webinar can be found at the following link: https://www2.cdc.gov/vaccines/ed/covid19/. The webinar is also available for 2.0 Continuing Education (CE)/Continuing Medical Education (CME) credits through the Defense Health Agency, J7, Continuing Education Program Office. To earn CE/CMEs, participants must complete the training on the CDC site, then register at the following link: https://www.dhaj7-cepo.com/content/covid-19-vaccine-training and complete both the posttest/evaluation questions.
Researching a Medical Condition?
Click the button below!
Ask the Library
CME / CE Links
Suggest a Purchase
Academic Research Library Guide
Current Events: COVID-19
Current Events: Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion
Internal Medicine Portal
Professional Reading (In Progress)
All Other Portals
Disclaimer: The appearance of hyperlinks does not constitute endorsement by the Department of Defense, Defense Health Agency of non-U.S. Government sites or the information, products, or services contained therein. Although the Darnall Medical Library, WRNMMC may or may not use these sites as additional distribution channels for Department of Defense information, it does not exercise editorial control over all of the information that you may find at these locations. Such hyperlinks are provided consistent with the stated purpose of this website.
Darnall Medical Library | Walter Reed NMMC | Building 1, Room 3458 | 8955 Wood Road | Bethesda, MD 20889 | 301-295-1184/85 | Open Monday-Friday, 0700-1630
After-hours access to the library is available to WRNMMC Staff via the CDO at 301-295-4611.