GME: Home

We're happy to conduct a Scholarly Activity search for your program. Email the following information to us:

• Resident's Names
• Faculty Names (If affiliated with another institution, please note.)

We'll respond with a document containing our search strategies, and the ACGME Scholarly Activity spreadsheet with PMIDs.

• Michele Mason-Coles: Clinical Librarian, Pediatrics / NICU
• Ann Holman: Library Director
• Dr. Tmanova: Research Librarian & Informationist, Radiology and Radiological Science, NICoE, SBBF
• Clinton Coates: Cataloging & Acquisitions
• MacArthur Jones: Circulation and Document Delivery
• Sarah Walton Taylor: Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery
• VACANT: Clinical Librarian, Internal Medicine
• VACANT: Library Technician

Didactics Support / Classes

• Evidence Based Medicine;
• Evidence Based Radiology;
• Critical Appraisal;
• Journal Club; 
• Scientific Communication (Conducting Research / Academic Writing);
• Literature Informatics;
• Research Data Management;
• Ethics in Writing and Publication
• Systematic Review
• Literature Review 

Services we can provide to your interns / residents / fellows

• Library orientation and exit classes;
• In-depth reference searches;
• Custom instruction in becoming an expert searcher;
• Training sessions in support of information literacy;
• Information on accessing using available point of care and other mobile apps;
• Classroom-based instruction or education carried out as part of the clinical team;
• Classroom-based instruction or education carried out as part of the research team;
• Support during the development of research and quality improvement projects;
• Systematic review collaboration 
• Reference assistance (virtual or in-person);
• Instruction (virtual or in-person);
• Tools in support of the scholarly approach to patient care.

Services we can provide to YOU

• In depth searches to aid you in your work;
• Support in developing new instructional modalities, such as experiential learning;
• Review and update of relevant Specialty Portals;
• Annual research documenting faculty / resident scholarly activities.

Electronic Journals
Access to roughly 11,000 electronic journals including core titles such as NEJM, Lancet, JAMA.

Databases
In addition to linking to bibliographic and point of care databases, our Databases page links providers to tools such as AudioDigest and BoardVitals.

Books
3000+ ebooks
5000+ print books
In addition to our medical texts, we provide the following:
Medical Humanism Collection: Supports efforts to develop competence in accordance with ACGME Core Requirement IV.B.1.e);
Professional Reading / Leadership Collection: Titles identified by various military professional reading programs and local leadership.

Specialty Portals
Sites with links to specialty specific books / journals / databases.

Of Interest
Journal of graduate medical education
Postgraduate medical journal
Postgraduate obstetrics & gynecology

• Mon-Fri, 0900-1500, try our Live Chat Service
• Need help? Ask the Library
• Urgent Patient Care Query: Contact the Library
• Looking for a Book or Article? Contact the Library Technicians
• Literature Search / Reference Question? Contact the Librarians
• Conducting Research? Contact the Research Librarian
• Darnall Medical Library, Circulation Desk: 295-1184
• Concerns? Compliments? Contact the Library Director

• TRICARE Appointment Line: 855-227-6331
• Walter Reed NMMC Main Phone: 301-295-4611
• TRICARE Health Services (includes phone numbers)

Researching a Medical Condition?
Click the button below!

• MHS Medical Library (MML)
• USUHS Learning Resource Center
• Alexander T. Augusta Military Medical Center Library