Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Internal Medicine Portal: Selected Databases

All Databases

For an A-Z list of all of the library's databases, please go to the library's Databases page.

NEJM Journal Watch

Gallery Image 2

Need Help Searching?

Ask for assistance with a literature search


A lit search is searching a database for targeted results on your topic

  • Contact us for a lit search for these types of questions:
    • Patient care questions (extremely quick turn-around, not as in-depth searching)
    • Questions with clinical implications (fast turn-around with some lee-way depending on the extent of research)
    • Questions related to grand rounds and presentations (we always try to meet your deadlines),
    • Research/QI project searching 

Results will typically be delivered as a list or link to citations

  • We may attach some PDFs to give you a quick start
  • We can send you results as an Endnote Library or word document of citation + abstract if that is your preferred format. 

Other related pieces to lit searching:

  • We're happy to teach you to search literature efficiently on your own
  • We can consult on best keywords, phrases, and controlled vocabulary for your searches if you want to work with us instead of have us conduct the search for you. 
  • We can also work with you to see if there have been similar papers/projects done in the past, though rule-out searches are tricky based on database availability. 
  • We offer assistance with extensive/long-term research projects such as systematic reviews/meta-analysis/scoping reviews, but we request that you meet with us so we can discuss library services and timeframes.

Request document delivery if you're looking for full-text PDFs for citations you've found

Set up an NCBI Account

My NCBI allows you to save searches, save collections of citations, manage filters, and save site preferences for major NCBI databases in PubMed.

We recommend setting up a free account (you don't have to use your @mail.mil address) so you can have personalized features, such as the links to full text results, highlighting of your search results, and the abstracts displayed when you search rather than just the summaries of articles.

Once you've created an account, go to the Filters box, click on "Manage Filters" and then select "Link Out". In the box, type in "Darnall" and check off both the boxes for filter and link icon. Next, in the search box, type in "Free Full Text," and check off the box for "filter."

Now you can go back to the top of the screen and click on "MyNCBI" again to customize your results display. Choose "NCBI Site Preferences" then, on the next page, change your highlighting preferences to a color of your choice (it is probably default to a non-color), and your "result display setting" to "abstract" and whichever number you choose instead of summary. You're all set and ready to search!

More information on NCBI accounts (there's a lot more to them, including saved searches)

Signing up for an account

MyNCBI Site Help

Google Scholar

To be linked to WRNMMC's journal article holdings (so you see the Locate@Darnall option), you should click on Settings in Google Scholar. Once you've clicked Settings, look to the left sidebar and click on Library Links. Look up Walter Reed National Military Medical Center - Locate@Darnall.

Google Scholar Search

Contact the Darnall Medical Library (DML)

For WRNNMC Healthcare Providers
For WRNNMC Patients
  • TRICARE Appointment Line: 855-227-6331
  • Walter Reed NMMC Main Phone: 301-295-4611
  • TRICARE Health Services (includes phone numbers)

Researching a Medical Condition?
Click the button below!

Our Partners
 

NEJM Resident 360: Rotation Prep

Prepare for clinical rotations with a free account. Register from a command computer at resident360.nejm.org

 

Disclaimer: The appearance of hyperlinks does not constitute endorsement by the Department of Defense, Defense Health Agency of non-U.S. Government sites or the information, products, or services contained therein. Although the Darnall Medical Library, WRNMMC may or may not use these sites as additional distribution channels for Department of Defense information, it does not exercise editorial control over all of the information that you may find at these locations. Such hyperlinks are provided consistent with the stated purpose of this website.

Darnall Medical Library | Walter Reed NMMC | Building 1, Room 3458 | 8955 Wood Road | Bethesda, MD 20889 | 301-295-1184/85 | Open Monday-Friday, 0700-1630

After-hours access to the library is available to WRNMMC Staff via the CDO at 301-295-4611.