Main Page: Welcome to Darnall Medical Library: Author Board

Each month, we search PubMed for articles written by Walter Reed National Military Medical Center personnel.

You'll find WRNMMC Author's Names in bold type.

PubMed Citations: December

Myles DE. Why men don't talk about domestic violence. J Natl Med Assoc. 2024 Dec;116(6):634-635. doi: 10.1016/j.jnma.2024.10.005. Epub 2024 Nov 12.

Sherin RPV, Vietor NO, Usman A, et al. Cardiovascular Disorders Associated With Acromegaly: an Update. Endocr Pract. 2024 Dec;30(12):1212-1219. doi: 10.1016/j.eprac.2024.09.014. Epub 2024 Sep 25.
WRNMMC Author(s): Hoang TD, Shakir MKM

Duy PQ, Jux B, Zhao S, et al. TRIM71 mutations cause a neurodevelopmental syndrome featuring ventriculomegaly and hydrocephalus. Brain. 2024 Dec 3;147(12):4292-4305. doi: 10.1093/brain/awae175.
WRNMMC Author(s): Estrada-Veras JI,

Bernstein SA, Hanson JL, Slat EA, et al. Medical Resident Perceptions of Distress during Training. South Med J. 2024 Dec;117(12):719-724. doi: 10.14423/SMJ.0000000000001766.

Muhandiramge J, Zalcberg JR, Warner ET, et al. Cardiovascular disease and stroke following cancer and cancer treatment in older adults. Cancer. 2024 Dec 1;130(23):4138-4148. doi: 10.1002/cncr.35503. Epub 2024 Sep 23.
WRNMMC Author(s): Bernstein WB

Moawad AW, Janas A, Baid U, et al. The Brain Tumor Segmentation - Metastases (BraTS-METS) Challenge 2023: Brain Metastasis Segmentation on Pre-treatment MRI. ArXiv [Preprint]. 2024 Dec 9:arXiv:2306.00838v3.
WRNMMC Author(s): Shih, R

Chen Y, Nelson AM, Cohen SP. Chronic pain for rheumatological disorders: Pathophysiology, therapeutics and evidence. Joint Bone Spine. 2024 Dec;91(6):105750. doi: 10.1016/j.jbspin.2024.105750. Epub 2024 Jun 8.

Fisher K, Furtado-Pessoa-de-Mendonca L, Kaushal S, et al. A Proposed Psychologic Clearance Algorithm for Spinal Cord Stimulation Implantation Supported by a Scoping Review. Neuromodulation. 2024 Dec;27(8):1294-1304. doi: 10.1016/j.neurom.2024.09.001. Epub 2024 Oct 30.
WRNMMC Author(s): Rodriguez SE

Keith AM, Hinman SE, Dickens NE, et al. Standardization of Variable Taper Files and Corresponding Gutta-Percha Cones Amongst Manufacturers. J Endod. 2024 Dec;50(12):1766-1771. doi: 10.1016/j.joen.2024.10.002. Epub 2024 Oct 10.
WRNMMC Author(s): Kim JJ, Scott RV, Osborne NH

Hunkler K, Widra E. Expectant management? How to communicate realistic outcomes and the possibility of failure. Fertil Steril. 2024 Dec;122(6):991-992. doi: 10.1016/j.fertnstert.2024.06.008. Epub 2024 Jun 19.

López LM, Newkirk RE, McAuliffe L, et al. Mpox (Monkeypox) On Board a Naval Warship. Mil Med. 2024 Dec 5:usae528. doi: 10.1093/milmed/usae528. Online ahead of print.
WRNMMC Author(s): Bloomquist L

Patkar S, Harmon S, Sesterhenn I, et al. A selective CutMix approach improves generalizability of deep learning-based grading and risk assessment of prostate cancer. J Pathol Inform. 2024 May 7;15:100381. doi: 10.1016/j.jpi.2024.100381. eCollection 2024 Dec.
WRNMMC Author(s): Chesnut GT

Boechler M, Fu YP, Raja N, et al. Gastrointestinal manifestations in Williams syndrome: A prospective analysis of an adult and pediatric cohort. Am J Med Genet A. 2024 Dec;194(12):e63827. doi: 10.1002/ajmg.a.63827. Epub 2024 Jul 29.

Lippa SM. A review of long-term outcomes of repetitive concussive and subconcussive blast exposures in the military and limitations of the literature. Clin Neuropsychol. 2024 Dec 24:1-36. doi: 10.1080/13854046.2024.2441395. Online ahead of print.

Eaglehouse YL, Shriver CD, Zhu K. ASO Author Reflections: Equal Access to Medical Care and Racial and Ethnic Disparities in the Management of Papillary Thyroid Cancer. Ann Surg Oncol. 2024 Dec;31(13):9143-9144. doi: 10.1245/s10434-024-16083-1. Epub 2024 Aug 19.

Tran N, Chan JE, Stewart C, Johnson CR, Darcy K, Tian C, Kapp DS, Liao CI, Chan JK. Trends in Uterine Cancer Cases After the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Pandemic. Obstet Gynecol. 2024 Dec 1;144(6):829-831. doi: 10.1097/AOG.0000000000005731. Epub 2024 Sep 19.

Eaglehouse YL, Darmon S, Park AB, et al. Time between pancreatic cancer diagnosis and treatment initiation and survival in the U.S. Military Health System. Pancreatology. 2024 Dec 24:S1424-3903(24)00843-3. doi: 10.1016/j.pan.2024.12.015. Online ahead of print.
WRNMMC Author(s): Shriver CD

Ilfeld BM, Smith CR, Turan A, et al; PAINfRE Investigators. Smallest Clinically Meaningful Improvement in Amputation-Related Pain and Brief Pain Inventory Scores as Defined by Patient Reports of Global Improvement After Cryoneurolysis: a Retrospective Analysis of a Randomized, Controlled Clinical Trial. Anesth Analg. 2024 Dec 1;139(6):1325-1331. doi: 10.1213/ANE.0000000000006833. Epub 2024 Nov 15.
WRNMMC Author(s): Miller ME

Goodwin A, Hughes K, Hartzell J, et al. Curriculum mapping to audit and grow longitudinal graduate medical education leadership training. BMJ Lead. 2024 Dec 23;8(4):368-372. doi: 10.1136/leader-2023-000854.
WRNMMC Author(s): Johnson WR

Ruan QZ, Pak DJ, Reece DE, et al. The Efficacy of Botulinum Toxin Use in Service Members and Veterans with Migraine and Post-Traumatic Headache Disorders: A Scoping Review. J Pain Res. 2024 Dec 10;17:4177-4186. doi: 10.2147/JPR.S487712. eCollection 2024.

Buckler AJ, Abbara S, Budoff MJ, et al. Special Report on the Consensus QIBA Profile for Objective Analytical Validation of Non-calcified and High-risk Plaque and Other Biomarkers using Computed Tomography Angiography. Acad Radiol. 2024 Dec;31(12):4811-4820. doi: 10.1016/j.acra.2024.07.014. Epub 2024 Jul 26.
WRNMMC Author(s): DeMarco JK

Sherlock LP, Gibson KJ, Talian DS, et al. Incidence of Self-Reported Bothersome Tinnitus Versus Tinnitus Diagnosis Among U.S. Army Soldiers. Am J Audiol. 2024 Dec 2;33(4):1212-1220. doi: 10.1044/2024_AJA-24-00053. Epub 2024 Oct 22.

Lee RU, Watson NL, Glickman GL, et al. A randomized clinical trial of the impact of melatonin on influenza vaccine: Outcomes from the melatonin and vaccine response immunity and chronobiology study (MAVRICS). Hum Vaccin Immunother. 2024 Dec 31;20(1):2419742. doi: 10.1080/21645515.2024.2419742. Epub 2024 Nov 13.

Davidson A, Boudin-George A, Pillion E, et al. Evaluating the Clinical Reliability and Reference Values of the International Outcome Inventory for Cochlear Implants in the Department of Defense Population. J Am Acad Audiol. 2024 Dec 23. doi: 10.1055/a-2368-9008. Online ahead of print.

Cohen SP. The effects of gabapentin and antidepressants on opioid-related mortality rates: physicians who can "see and hear," must also "look and listen". Pain. 2024 Dec 13. doi: 10.1097/j.pain.0000000000003449. Online ahead of print.

Denkensohn CP, Cook GA. Autonomic failure associated with 16p11.2 duplication in two siblings. Clin Auton Res. 2024 Dec;34(6):603-605. doi: 10.1007/s10286-024-01058-9. Epub 2024 Aug 14.

Roig J, Rekawek P, Doctor T, et al. Postpartum Hemorrhage after Vaginal Delivery Is Associated with a Decrease in Immediate Breastfeeding Success. Am J Perinatol. 2024 Dec;41(16):2252-2257. doi: 10.1055/s-0044-1786750. Epub 2024 May 27.

Cohen SP, Liu WL, Doshi TL, et al. Difficult Encounters in Chronic Pain Patients: A Cohort Study. Mayo Clin Proc. 2025 Jan;100(1):30-41. doi: 10.1016/j.mayocp.2024.08.010. Epub 2024 Dec 5.

Felan NA, Garcia-Creighton E, Hirpara A, et al. Navigating the Orthopaedic Maze as a New Patient: A National Mystery Caller Study on Medicaid Coverage and Access to Specialized Surgeons. J Am Acad Orthop Surg. 2024 Dec 3. doi: 10.5435/JAAOS-D-24-00668. Online ahead of print.
WRNMMC Author(s): Smyth A

Bytnar JA, Anderson AB, Potter BK, et al. Incidence rates of soft tissue sarcoma among U.S. military servicemen: Comparison with the rates in the general U.S. population. Cancer. 2025 Jan 1;131(1):e35607. doi: 10.1002/cncr.35607. Epub 2024 Dec 9.
WRNMMC Author(s): Shriver CD

Hunzinger KJ, Cameron KL, Roach MH, et al. Baseline concussion assessment performance by sex in military service academy rugby players: findings from the CARE Consortium. BMJ Mil Health. 2024 Dec 11;170(e2):e161-e166. doi: 10.1136/military-2023-002358.
WRNMMC Author(s): Pasquina PF

Harris DR, Cardaci TD, Ismaeel A, et al. Editorial: Sports nutrition: muscle adaptation via supplementation and other nutritional strategies. Front Nutr. 2024 Dec 19;11:1539316. doi: 10.3389/fnut.2024.1539316. eCollection 2024.
WRNMMC Author(s): Heileson JL

Vir P, Gunasekera D, Dorjbal B, et al. Lack of factor VIII detection in humans and dogs with an intron 22 inversion challenges hypothesis regarding inhibitor risk. J Thromb Haemost. 2024 Dec;22(12):3415-3430. doi: 10.1016/j.jtha.2024.08.007. Epub 2024 Sep 2.
WRNMMC Author(s): Stering AI, Lieuw K

O'Connell MA, Carreño PK, Johnson B, et al. Inequities in Physical Therapy Receipt of US Service Members and Veterans with Low Back Pain. Arch Phys Med Rehabil. 2024 Dec 31:S0003-9993(24)01421-7. doi: 10.1016/j.apmr.2024.12.017. Online ahead of print.

Ma Y, Kaminski M, Crutcher R. Felbamate as a therapeutic alternative to drug-resistant genetic generalized epilepsy: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Neurol Sci. 2024 Dec 26. doi: 10.1007/s10072-024-07942-6. Online ahead of print.

Jackson DA, Lippa SM, Brickell TA, et al. Examining the Discrepancy between Subjective Cognitive Complaints and Processing Speed Performance in Military Personnel with Traumatic Brain Injury. Arch Clin Neuropsychol. 2024 Dec 18:acae112. doi: 10.1093/arclin/acae112. Online ahead of print.
WRNMMC Author(s): French LM

Montalvan-Sanchez EE, Hernandez-Marrero J, Norwood DA, et al. Establishment of a Mesoamerican-Caribbean South-South Research Platform: Challenges in the Meriva (Curcuminoids) Gastric Cancer Chemoprevention Trial. Cancer Prev Res (Phila). 2024 Dec 3;17(12):549-555. doi: 10.1158/1940-6207.CAPR-23-0345.
WRNMMC Author(s): Rodriguez LM

Gibbs HP, Anderson AB, Hoyt BW, et al. Thighplasty for Transfemoral Amputations and Osseointegration: Lower Rate of Complications Than Thighplasty for Body Contouring. Plast Reconstr Surg Glob Open. 2024 Dec 20;12(12):e6389. doi: 10.1097/GOX.0000000000006389. eCollection 2024 Dec.
WRNMMC Author(s): Saberski ER

Lin J, Orestes MI, Shriver CD, et al. Post-diagnosis statin use and survival among head and neck cancer patients: a cohort study in a universal health care system. Br J Cancer. 2024 Dec 7. doi: 10.1038/s41416-024-02925-y. Online ahead of print.

Tanenbaum MT, Matecki M, Sarin S, et al. Gunshot wound causing thoracic aortic injury with bullet embolization to the common femoral artery. J Vasc Surg Cases Innov Tech. 2024 Aug 24;10(6):101588. doi: 10.1016/j.jvscit.2024.101588. eCollection 2024 Dec.
WRNMMC Author(s): Ayubi F

Hope ER, Kopelman ZA, Darcy KM, et al. Updates in Human Papillomavirus Vaccination to Improve Medical Readiness in Active Duty Service Members. Mil Med. 2024 Dec 19:usae559. doi: 10.1093/milmed/usae559. Online ahead of print.

Eljilany I, Coleman S, Tan AC, et al. Differential Infiltration of Key Immune T-Cell Populations Across Malignancies Varying by Immunogenic Potential and the Likelihood of Response to Immunotherapy. Cells. 2024 Dec 3;13(23):1993. doi: 10.3390/cells13231993.
WRNMMC Author(s): Shriver C

Rosenthal RM, Featherall J, Lewis DC, et al. Time-Sensitive Injuries for the Sports Medicine Surgeon - "Sports Medicine Trauma", Part 2: Lower Extremity. Orthop Rev (Pavia). 2024 Dec 7;16:126707. doi: 10.52965/001c.126707. eCollection 2024.
WRNMMC Author(s): Putko RM, McGlone PJ, Feeley SM, Panarello NM, Rabin S

Rosenthal RM, Featherall J, Putko RM, et al. Time-sensitive injuries for the sports medicine surgeon - "Sports Medicine Trauma", Part 1: Upper Extremity. Orthop Rev (Pavia). 2024 Dec 7;16:126704. doi: 10.52965/001c.126704. eCollection 2024.
WRNMMC Author(s): McGlone PJ, Feeley SM, Panarello NM, Rabin S

Gianferante DM, Mendez KJW, Cole S, et al. Genotype-phenotype associations in individuals with Diamond Blackfan anaemia. EJHaem. 2024 Oct 16;5(6):1117-1124. doi: 10.1002/jha2.1031. eCollection 2024 Dec.

Reynolds AM, Seymour ZR, Iftikhar IH, et al. The Effects of Experimental Sleep Extension in Middle-to-Older-Aged Healthy Sleepers. Sleep Sci. 2024 Jun 13;17(4):e357-e369. doi: 10.1055/s-0044-1782525. eCollection 2024 Dec.

Colantonio DF, Fredericks DR Jr, Elsenbeck MJ, et al. Recurrent Lumbar Disk Herniation and Revision Surgery Rates After Single-Level Lumbar Microdiscectomy in the Military Population. J Am Acad Orthop Surg. 2024 Dec 18. doi: 10.5435/JAAOS-D-24-00879. Online ahead of print.
WRNMMC Author(s): Cady C, Schlaff CD, Helgeson MD, Wagner SC

Hunkler K, Boedeker D, Casablanca Y, et al. Live birth after uterine-sparing treatment of pyometra following abdominal myomectomy: A case report. Case Rep Womens Health. 2024 Oct 30;44:e00660. doi: 10.1016/j.crwh.2024.e00660. eCollection 2024 Dec.
WRNMMC Author(s): Hill M

Goldstein RE, Hulten EA, Arnold TB, et al. Exercise stress echocardiography shows impaired left ventricular function after hospitalization with COVID-19 without overt myocarditis: A pilot study. Physiol Rep. 2024 Dec;12(23):e70138. doi: 10.14814/phy2.70138.
WRNMMC Author(s): Walker EN, Harrell TE, Haigney MC

Haynes Z, Nathan SD, Aryal S, et al. Correlation of classic history, imaging and pathology with novel genetics in Birt-Hogg-Dubé syndrome. BMJ Case Rep. 2024 Dec 26;17(12):e262177. doi: 10.1136/bcr-2024-262177.

Welch EK, Dengler KL, Vaccaro CM. Bladder instillations versus onabotulinumtoxinA for interstitial cystitis/bladder pain syndrome: a response. Am J Obstet Gynecol. 2024 Dec 15:S0002-9378(24)01192-X. doi: 10.1016/j.ajog.2024.12.015. Online ahead of print.

McGlorthan L, Paucarmayta A, Casablanca Y, et al. Retraction Note: Progesterone induces apoptosis by activation of caspase-8 and calcitriol via activation of caspase-9 pathways in ovarian and endometrial cancer cells in vitro. Apoptosis. 2024 Dec 30. doi: 10.1007/s10495-024-02062-0. Online ahead of print.
WRNMMC Author(s): Maxwell GL, Syed V