Academic Research: Information Resources

DML Information Resources 

• Literature Databases: 
  For an A-Z list of all of the library's databases, please go to the library's Databases page.
• Journal Articles: 
  For a complete list of the library's print and electronic journals, please go to the library's Journals page.
• Books: 
  For complete list of all of the library's print and electronic books, search the library's book catalog.

PubMed & NCBI

• PubMed
• PubMed Clinical Queries 
• PubMed Central
• NCBI Bookshelf 
• NCBI NLM Literature 

 Note: Training content is at the Self-Guide Learning. Also, schedule Consultation on finding associated resources. 

Contemporary Literature Search Engines 

An exponential publication of research studies resulted in accumulation of academic information challenging the discovery of research information from literature search databases, journals, and search engines. Traditional literature search engines are based on keywords and controlled vocabulary rather than on concepts and words meaning.

New generation literature search engines use Artificial Intelligence (AI), Machine Learning (ML), machine vision, semantic and textual analysis. These search engines use AI and semantic technologies to discover meaningful information for efficient access to knowledge in the heterogeneous informational environments. Semantic search engines use full-text indexing, smart filters, citation generation, exploration of the relevant concepts, creating search alerts, harvest articles in databases and the web, and ranking algorithms to understand the knowledge and information from abundant pools of literature. The Semantic Scholar is the search engines used for literature search in radiology, science, and medicine.

• Semantic Scholar - AI-based literature search engine of peer-reviewed research in medicine, computer science, and other fields.
• Semantic MedLine - used to identify conceptual network of research publications that is based on the semantic predication from PubMed search. 
• Coremine - analyzes literature using relational networks of topics obtained through term clustering. 

BrowZine

Keep updated by developing your customized list of radiology articles using the BrowZine. Follow the BrowZine installation  instruction to download the BrowZine and use after authentication as Walter Reed National Military Medical Center affiliate. 
Note: Training content is at the Self-Guide Learning. Also, schedule Consultation on finding associated resources. 

Google Scholar, Books, Patents

Online access to library subscriptions is usually restricted to library affiliates. When searching Google search engine an option Locate@Darnall notifies that this resource is offered to only affiliates of the Darnall Medical Library, Walter Reed National Military Medical Center.

• Google Scholar 
• Google Patents
• Google Books 

Government Scientific Sources 

   Science.gov - science searches over 60 databases and 2200 scientific websites

PubDefence - peer-reviewed scholarly publications funded by DoD and ODNI/IARPA

Critical - Appraisal EBM resources (selected) 

• Jama Evidence
• Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: A Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, 3rd ed. Guyatt, G; Rennie, D; Meade, M; Cook, D
• JAMA Guide to Statistic and Methods. Livingston, E; Lewis, R 
• Critical Appraisal Checklist, CASP
• Critical Appraisal Tools, CEBM - clinical appraisal worksheets on the evaluation of: 
  • Critical Appraisal of Qualitative Studies Sheet
  • Diagnostics 
  • Prognosis
  • Randomized Controlled Trials (RCT)
  • Systematic review
  • IDP Review Sheet 

Radiology Evidence-Based Resources (EBM) (selected)
 

• Original research studies published in journals

  • PubMed
  • MEDLINE Ovid
  • EMBASE
  • Web of Science
  • MD Consult

• Systematic reviews and syntheses

  • PubMed clinical queries, Cochrane collaboration
  • CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
  • NICE (National institute for clinical excellence)
  • SIGN (Scottish Intercollegiate Guidance Network
  • SUMSearch
  • NGC Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

• Synopses

  • American College of Physicians
  • British Medical Journal
  • Clinical Evidence
  • Evidence-Based Medicine Online
  • TRIP (Turning Research into Practice)
  • Dynamed
  • Physician Information and Education Resources (PIER)
  • UpToDate

• Computerized clinical decision support systems, computerized provider order entry

  • Center for Evidence Based Radiology at the Brigham and Women's hospital
  • Massachusetts General Hospital
  • BestBET's
  • CAT crawler 

• Radiological Electronic Resources

  • Radiology Net 

Note: The library guide is supplementary to journal club meetings at the Radiology and Radiological Sciences department.  

Databases and Repositories 

• National Library of Medicine MedPix - online Medical Images Database 
• Open-Access Medical Image Repositories
• National COVID-19 Chest Image Database (NCCID) 
• RSNA International COVID-19 Open Radiology Database 
• Cancer Imaging Archive 
• Coherent X-ray Imaging Data Bank 
• SICAS Medical Image Repository 

Data Sets

• Imaging data sets (artificial intelligence)
• Data Science Institute. American College of Radiology 
• Open Access Series of Imaging Studies 
   

Published Articles 

• Content-based image retrieval (CBIR)
  • Saritha, R. R., Paul, V., & Kumar, P. G. (2019). Content based image retrieval using deep learning process. Cluster Computing, 22(2), 4187-4200.
  • Zhou, W., Li, H., & Tian, Q. (2017). Recent advance in content-based image retrieval: A literature survey. arXiv preprint arXiv:1706.06064.
  • Akgül, C. B., Rubin, D. L., Napel, S., Beaulieu, C. F., Greenspan, H., & Acar, B. (2011). Content-based image retrieval in radiology: current status and future directions. Journal of digital imaging, 24(2), 208-222.
  • Faria, A. V., Oishi, K., Yoshida, S., Hillis, A., Miller, M. I., & Mori, S. (2015). Content-based image retrieval for brain MRI: An image-searching engine and population-based analysis to utilize past clinical data for future diagnosis. NeuroImage: Clinical, 7, 367-376.
  • Long, F., Zhang, H., & Feng, D. D. (2003). Fundamentals of content-based image retrieval. In Multimedia information retrieval and management (pp. 1-26). Springer, Berlin, Heidelberg.
  • Zhang Z, Sejdić E. Radiological images and machine learning: Trends, perspectives, and prospects. Comput Biol Med. 2019 May;108:354-370. Epub 2019 Feb 27. PMID: 31054502; PMCID: PMC6531364.
  • Camalan, S., Niazi, M. K. K., Moberly, A. C., Teknos, T., Essig, G., Elmaraghy, C., Taj-Schaal, N., & Gurcan, M. N. (2020). OtoMatch: Content-based eardrum image retrieval using deep learning. PLoS One, 15(5), e0232776.
  • Peizhong, L., Jing-Ming, G., Chi-Yi, W., & Danlin, C. (2017). Fusion of Deep Learning and Compressed Domain Features for Content-Based Image Retrieval. IEEE Trans Image Process, 26(12), 5706-5717.
  • Tschandl, P., Argenziano, G., Razmara, M., & Yap, J. (2019). Diagnostic accuracy of content-based dermatoscopic image retrieval with deep classification features. Br J Dermatol, 181(1), 155-165.
  • Tschandl, P., Argenziano, G., Razmara, M., & Yap, J. (2019). Diagnostic accuracy of content-based dermatoscopic image retrieval with deep classification features. Br J Dermatol, 181(1), 155-165.
  • Matern, F., Riess, C., & Stamminger, M. (2019). Exploiting Visual Artifacts to Expose Deepfakes and Face Manipulations. 2019 IEEE Winter Applications of Computer Vision Workshops (WACVW), 83-92.
  • Alsmadi, M. (2020). Content-Based Image Retrieval Using Color, Shape and Texture Descriptors and Features. Arabian Journal for Science and Engineering, 45, 3317-3330.
  • Shao, Z., Zhou, W., Deng, X., Zhang, M., & Cheng, Q. (2020). Multilabel Remote Sensing Image Retrieval Based on Fully Convolutional Network. IEEE Journal of Selected Topics in Applied Earth Observations and Remote Sensing, 13, 318-328.
  • Srivastava, P., Khare, M., & Khare, A. (2020). Combining Local Binary Pattern and Speeded-Up Robust Feature for Content-Based Image Retrieval. ACIIDS.
  • Shen, M., Cheng, G., Zhu, L., Du, X., & Hu, J. (2020). Content-Based Multi-Source Encrypted Image Retrieval in Clouds with Privacy Preservation. ArXiv, abs/1809.08433.
  • Zou, Z., Shi, Z., Guo, Y., & Ye, J. (2019). Object Detection in 20 Years: A Survey. ArXiv, abs/1905.05055.
  • Sharma, V., & Mir, R.N. (2020). A comprehensive and systematic look up into deep learning-based object detection techniques: A review. Computer Science Review, 38, 100301.
  • Öztürk, Ş. (2020). Stacked auto-encoder based tagging with deep features for content-based medical image retrieval. Expert Syst. Appl., 161, 113693.

• PubMed on Tap - conduct a search in PubMed and PubMed Central and gather reference information 
• Docphin - medical literature aggregator 
• iAnnotate - subscription-based application to read, annotate, and share documents, articles, and web pages
• EndNote for iPad - free application to search, create a citation, and share libraries. 
• LabArchives for IPad - free application and companion of LabArchives Notebooks web application to manage files and documents

For more books and journals, browse DML Book Catalog and DML A-Z Journal Catalog, and DML Database Catalog. Schedule Consultation on finding associated sources.